Like... A Duck?

So The Boy and I went out for dinner this evening. Small talk with the waitress while he was paying (what a gentleman!) and she mentioned that she just got back from Vegas (which is also where my manager is right now... goddammit, I'm jealous of all these people) and I was like "Oh cool! Do any gambling?" And she was like "No, I'm too young. But I did go see Drake! Do you know who Drake is?" Cuz The Boy and I are old. We might not know who Drake is. After we left we were joking about that "Yeah, Drake from Degrassi! Guy in the wheelchair! Did he get better?"

I honestly didn't think this girl was under 21, though. She was all like "Yeah, I should go back when I turn 21!" Yeah... why did you even bother going BEFORE you were 21? Just to see Drake? He wasn't playing anywhere closer? Foolish waitress! The Boy said he tipped her, like, 11 bucks but I don't know why.

So in work news, I have to put a bid in on a contract tomorrow because my manager is in Vegas, like I said. This is a first for me, although good practice, I guess. I was reading about it and it doesn't sound overly difficult to do. I even e-mailed the company president about it, to make sure it was alright if I did it, and she said if I get too freaked out by the thing that I could call her and she'd do it. But I think I'll manage. I know what our head office approved bid is and as long as I manage to say the correct dollar amount, that's all I can really do. And really... this isn't a huge contract, or even one that I really want, but... well... Gotta try for these things. Money, and whatnot.

I'm, like, a businesswoman now. Can you dig it?

I'm going up to see my parents this weekend. Just cuz I can. I normally save these things for special occasions or long weekends, but I've been feeling kind of weird lately and I have managed to score a ride most of the way there with a friend so... might as well go for it. I have kind of a weird relationship with my parents lately. A little strained, perhaps. But I still occasionally get feelings of homesickness and... yeah. Also my grandmother isn't doing all that well, health-wise... I feel like I should go see her. I was supposed to see her last time I was up but that didn't happen because she wasn't doing well. So hopefully this time. This is my dad's mom... my mom's mom died last year, which was literally the equivalent of someone reaching into my chest and ripping out my heart, for me. She was 92, nothing short of a complete and full life, but it made me more aware of mortality, which I sometimes forget is a thing. She's only the second person close to me, my first being my uncle over 13 years ago, to die. And I was like "Wow... my entire life is going to be full of this, over and over and over again." So I'd like to spend some more time with my other grandmother, who is only 74, by the way, but in pretty much as bad of a shape as my grandma was at 92, just in case... well, you know. I'm being realistic.

I'll be back up there for Christmas with The Boy as well but... well, since I have this ride all lined up... and I never do anything productive with my weekends anyway...


2013-11-25 at 8:01 p.m.