Coming to You LIVE From the Internet Cafe Central of Capital City!

So my computer died. Like... kablooey. Well it might be able to be fixed... I went to my cousin's place last night for dinner and her boyfriend fixes computers for a living so he was fooling around with it... Apparently it's a common problem with the type of laptop that I have. He couldn't get it to work, though, so he's taking it in to his work and maybe one of his co-workers can get it up and running again. And if not... well, I will just have to suck it up and buy a new one. Emu can live without many things, but a computer is not one of them.

So in the mean time I am bouncing back and forth between borrowing Temp Roomie's computer, and going to an internet cafe. I am at the latter right now. Wanted to write in here but didn't want to do it on her computer. Privacy issues and all that.

So life has been going. Work blows and is slow. I'm getting guilt and bullshit from every direction. Bless my dear Cool Dorky Guy, though. He's so hurtin' in terms of work and hours, so I felt really good about getting to call him in for a 6 hour shift on Friday. Then we chatted and ranted on Facebook on Friday night and yesterday afternoon. HOURS we talked. He's so cool and very very down to earth. I think he definitely qualifies as my buddy now. I also told him about the history between Emo Boy and I. I just had to get that out and tell someone who knows him. He doesn't seem to have much good to say about Emo Boy, despite his "[Emo Boy] is awesome!" outburst at work that one day. Best thing he really had to say about him yesterday was "Well... he is pretty in the face..." Ha. Yep, that pretty much just summed it up right there.

The amount of work that came in Friday for Monday was ridiculous. I'm probably only going to work 4 hours. This is dumb. This is beyond fucking dumb. The receptionist and I were talking about this on Friday on my way out. Things are supposed to pick up for a month in May, and I hope we don't lose all our good people before then due to a complete lack of work, but then after that... it'll be the same old shit. And the manager keeps taking all this time off... which in a way is good because she's not stealing work away from the rest of us and is not breathing down our necks for various reasons, but like a few people have said already... She should be fuckin' hustling for us. Working on getting us new contracts. Trying not to lose all her employees.

But this weekend has been really good. I've enjoyed the time I spent chatting with Cool Dorky Guy. I hung out with Capital City Guy Friday night, which was on and off good. He got kind of cranky at the end of the evening, though. He is such a child sometimes. Then Saturday I mainly just took it easy, then went to my cousin's, like I said, for dinner then played Rummoli with her and her two little ones. Cute kids. Today I am bumming around downtown for a while before meeting up with Red in about an hour and a half for coffee and a game of Rummy, because we got to talking about how both of us used to play that with our grandmas. Should be good times.

So... another week to get through. We'll see how it goes. Might be computer shopping at some point... Part of me really does want a new computer because that one is a piece of shit that is CONSTANTLY failing me, but the other part of me is cheap and doesn't want to shell out of the money. So... yeah. We'll see. There is always something going on in my life, no matter how pathetic it may be.


2010-04-18 at 12:21 p.m.