I'm Not Half As Dumb As The Lot Of You Are

So this week hasn't been very good. Work isn't going well, I feel ignored by almost everyone, I'm SO lonely, I'm freaking out about money again and yeah. Just general not goodness all around.

And as usual, the shit hit the fan yesterday afternoon just before my supervisor left, and I am now having to deal with everything. Work kind of died again but FOR SOME STUPID FUCKING REASON the manager decided to hire someone new to start today. This'll be my first time having to deal with a brand spanking new person. And the only project we have going right now is a very very complicated one that no newb should be doing right out the gate, but I have to teach it to them today. Should not be pretty. Plus yesterday my supervisor had to teach it to a couple semi-newbs who will still be full of questions today. Not that THAT affects me a whole lot, since most people have decided to ignore the chain of command that the manager set in place and walk right by me to ask questions to a person who they aren't even supposed to be going to for help, because he's not a supervisor or backup supervisor at all. The Know It All Asshole. He just speaks with such authority and uses a lot of words, so people think he's smart. Fact is, he's not and I've overheard him giving a lot of bad advice. But if these people aren't going to come to me, they can get in shit for doing things wrong.

See the thing is... for the most part, I know this project very well and out of everyone at work I have gotten the least amount of negative feedback from the client about doing things wrong. It's just that, especially the older employees who have been there longer than me... I think they still feel odd coming to me for help. And also I don't speak with the same kind of know it all arrogance that the Know It All Asshole does, partly because that's just not how I roll and also I'm ultra paranoid about coming off as as much of a douchebag as I think he comes off as. And also I do kinda seem like an airhead and a ditz a lot of the time, but I actually do know what I'm talking about for the most part and I think I know this project better than anyone now. Even a couple things I've heard my supervisor say... eh, I disagree with them. But then I think she's pretty notorious for overcomplicating things.

And also... a co-worker of mine, one who's been getting progressively crazier and can't even manage to work all of her already very short 4 hour shift most of the time... Turns out she tried to kill herself last weekend. And then got locked up for it, because apparently she made a threatening call to 911 about it. She was in on Monday, though, and I was getting irritated at how freaking weirder and more annoying than usual she was acting. But at least I wasn't supervising, so I didn't have to deal with her. And like usual, she didn't even work her full 4 hours. Anyways, my supervisor told me yesterday about her situation because she hasn't been in this week since Monday but may come in today. So I get to deal with her whole lot of crazy, a brand new newb, two semi-newbs, and a bunch of people who don't take me seriously, while trying to prevent my own breakdown which I have been on the verge of all week. Oh the joy.

ALSO... on Tuesday the receptionist came up to me and accused me of being full of shit about the O with a line through it (�) being a real thing. And when I told her it was a Scandinavian thing, she looked at me like I was making up words. Finally, the Know It All Asshole piped in (as he usually does), confirmed that I was infact not full of shit, and this time used the word Norwegian to describe this particular character, and she finally believed him. And understood what Norwegian meant. I was just like "Holy crap, woman." (although not out loud). And people think I'M the idiot.

Anyways, I should try to get some more sleep now. Gotta get up for my day of hell in 2 hours.


2010-02-18 at 3:41 a.m.