2010: Year Of The Emu!!

So how much longer is it going to be until 2010 stops looking incredibly weird to me?

Anyways... New Years Eve was good. It ended up being just Capital City Guy and I because the Cute Awkward Guy and his Big Blonde Fiancee bailed at the last moment. Not a big deal. Capital City Guy and I got waaaaaasted and for the first time in the history of ever, I got kissed at midnight. Even last year, when Capital City Guy and I were considerably more of a couple than we are now... no kiss. So I was quite happy with this. But yeah... so wasted. We got enough liquor for the 4 of us, then it ended up being just the two of us so we polished off a 12 pack of beer and two bottles of wine. Go us. Needless to say, we were both pretty useless on New Years Day. I was basically napping at his place all day until about 5 in the evening, then finally dragged my ass home.

And yeah, Friday night I ended up just hanging at home alone, continuing to be relatively still. I ordered The Hangover on Video On Demand, a very fitting movie... people go on about how hilarious it is and I found it to be somewhat funny, but maybe I could just relate to it a little bit too much to LOL at it. Because I have had all too many days where I've spent all day trying to piece together details of the previous night. Emu knows how to party. Sometimes.

Then all of last night and all of today was spent with Capital City Guy. I just couldn't be fucking bothered to leave his place, and he was more than happy to have me hanging around, so it was all good. He even made me brunch this morning. Excellent times. We're becoming really good at just being friends. Ehhh, there's still some "benefits" in there from time to time but never have I felt so content with the distance and yet closeness between us. He truly is my best friend. One of the things we drunkenly discussed (then later soberly confirmed) on New Years Eve was what will happen when one of us eventually enters into a real relationship with someone. We've pretty much come to the conclusion that it'll suck at first, but we're going to support eachother because we love eachother and want to be in eachother's lives, but have more than proven time and time again that we can't be in a relationship with the other. Doesn't work. Ugliness ensues.

So I'm working on slightly less wanting to kill that female friend of his that I don't even know. Because I know she has a boyfriend already and blah blah blah and even if something did happen with them yadda yadda yadda I will be happy, if she's right for him. But any girl who enters his life who is not worthy... her ass will be taken down personally by me.

Oh, and work on Thursday... pathetic. Even the other backup supervisor was told not to come in. So it was me, the receptionist, one tech guy, and the manager. And I was the only person who was able to do all of the daily work, because the others both don't know all the jobs and also have seperate jobs of their own to do, so it was a bit of pressure. But stuff was done by about 1 in the afternoon and my manager just came up to me and was like "Um... would you mind leaving now?" And I ran out of the office practically before she was finished her sentence. And there's a good chance I won't be working a full shift tomorrow, especially since I'm not supervising. But at least it'll be something. Unlike some of the other poor bastards who work there. Man, and to think that at this time last year, that was me! My hours are considerably more secure now, so a short shift is actually a treat.

Man I'm getting boring. Maybe my life will start to get more interesting again in 2010. What kind of drunken adventures with random men in bizarre locations will Emu get involved with this year, or has she actually put that period of her life behind her? Stay tuned.


2010-01-03 at 9:08 p.m.