And You Think I'm Capable Of Handling This Because...?

Okay, so... big news. On Friday the office manager called me into the office and, um... gave me a promotion. Second backup supervisor. Which may not sound allll that impressive but considering my supervisor only works 3 days a week now, that's 2 days a week where I am backup supervisor. And considering the backup supervisor seems to take a lot of time off, that means I'm likely to be in the hot seat fairly often, calling the shots.

Now, this is both good and bad. First of all, not considering the people who were just hired this summer, I am the newest person there, having only been there just over a year. To say I am the least qualified person for this job would be an understatement. I have a hell of a lot of stuff to learn. The office manager basically said that they were also considering two other people, Cute Emo Boy being one of them, both of whom have been there considerably longer and know more stuff but they're also both going back to school next month which means they do not have the full availability that this position requires. Cute Emo Boy is still going to be working full time because he'll be attending classes in the evening this time but this position will occasionally require working til 9 during the week, as well as a Saturday here and there, so because I was essentially their third choice and with absolutely no life that I could be in there whenever necessary... they wanted me.

Now, am I afraid that the people with more seniority aren't going to take me seriously when I'm telling them what to do and teaching them new stuff? Clearly. Even though I got pretty good at my job pretty fast, I'm pretty sure I've developed a reputation as being a little careless and also kinda ditsy. But my supervisor recommended me to the manager for this position and they're both apparently confident that I can handle it so, um... we'll see.

And yeah, that's the big news. Everything else in my life continues to be pretty much the same. Our electricity got shut off for the second time because Roomie "forgot" to pay the bill... have I written since then? So yeah, that REALLY pissed me off. But other than that... yeah. Cute Emo Boy and I continue to have lunch together every day, but the dynamic is still weird, we get pretty bitchy towards eachother, we haven't so much as kissed in weeks, and we haven't hung out outside of work in an even longer time. Capital City Guy and I almost have the vibe that we're dating again, except not really. I dunno, it's complicated.

I went to a party with Capital City Guy last night and smoked pot for the first time in a while and... note to self: MUST become a stoner again. Man, it felt nice.

Today has been lazy. I slept a lot. Tomorrow if I'm ambitious I might take a trip out to the Suck Ass Suburbs to do some shopping. We will see.

And that's all there is to say. Later, my pets.


2009-08-22 at 7:13 p.m.