Yeah... I Could Never Be Amish

So I dunno about you, but I spent a couple days without electricity. Roomie neglected to pay the electric bill. And, um... yeah. They shut off our power. He was just like "Um... I forgot to check the mail." Now, I don't actually know from experience because I've never been late with such a bill, but don't you have to be CONSIDERABLY overdue and/or miss SEVERAL bills for them to flat out shut off your power? I was not impressed. You don't realize how dependent you are on all things electric until someone takes away your electricity for a couple days.

So, yeah, it was fine Tuesday morning but by the time I came home from lunch, it was off. And I thought it was just a power outage. Although the hallways seemed to be fine, I could hear TVs coming from other apartments, etc. Okay, so just a very selective power outage. Then after work, still out. I sat here in silence for a while, then went out for supper cuz it's not like I could cook anything, then went to a mall, came home... still no power. Fear began to set in. Then eventually Roomie called me from work and told me that the power had been shut off because he "forgot" to pay the bill, and that it would be turned back on sometime Wednesday. Then yesterday when I got home from work it was STILL off, and I was pissed so I just took off... apparently it came back on, like, half an hour later, though. So if only I had been patient.

But yeah I jumped on a bus and headed to the outskirts of the city... an area I hadn't really explored before. Basically just wandered around. Some nice houses and trails in that area. Then I ended up pretty much in the middle of nowhere however I was by Capital City Guy's work. I was really tired after all my walking so I just sat outside the building for about an hour until he was off. And surprised the hell out of him. He seemed quite happy to see me, though. Anyways, so we went back to his place and had a quiet evening together.

So yeah, this is basically my first chance here to enjoy the electricity again. Ah, computer. How I missed thee. Actually, on Tuesday at lunch I went to turn on my computer, before I noticed there was no power, and when it didn't turn on my first thought was that it had finally died. The power being out didn't dawn on me until I had tried to turn it on about 5 times and was about ready to throw it out the window. Then I glanced over at my alarm clock and was like "Oh." So it's a good thing I didn't toss this thing. That would have been quite bad and unnecessary.

Anyways, it was payday for me today... my cheque was kinda small, but oh well... next one will be bigger. I'm too tired to walk to the bank right now, though, so depositing it will probably just wait until tomorrow. However I feel like I should drag my ass at least as far as the grocery store and pick up some stuff. I've been eating too many bagels lately, I feel like I should branch out a bit. I guess I should go do that now before I get too comfortable here.


2009-04-30 at 3:56 p.m.