Employed Once Again

So I have some good news and some bad news. The good news is I got a job! It's easy for me to get to and it's not retail! The bad news is the pay is shitty... it's even less than my last job... and there's no guaranteed number of hours. It could be 40... or it could be 0. And also it's a "tied to a desk" job which I haven't always handled real well in the past... but whatever. Hopefully it'll be okay. It seems like a pretty lax place to work. It's definitely worth giving it a try. I start tomorrow 8 to 4. I'll probably get weekends off for the most part. And it'll probably always be 8 to 4 as long as the hours don't get cut down. So it's almost like a real job. Almost.

And, yeah, I should probably be asleep right now because of me starting early, at least what I consider to be early, but... well, you know me and my sleeping patterns. I napped between 5 and 7 this evening. I was so dead tired. Busy day for me.

Yeah, first was the phone call at 9 to schedule the job interview. Then I didn't really want to go back to sleep because I had that lunch date with my cousin at noon and I wanted time to get ready for the interview before that because I wasn't sure how much time I'd have inbetween. And also I wanted to get downtown early cuz I didn't really know where this restaurant was and I wanted to find it. And... yeah. Lunch was pretty good. I literally haven't seen this cousin in... eh, I'm thinking it's been 7 years. Last time I remember seeing her was July 2001. And that was only briefly. So, yeah, it was almost like a blind date kind of thing. But it was fine. She talked a lot about her job. Sounds like she thinks she's pretty important. But she was nice.

Then, yeah, the interview... they pretty much offered me the job on the spot. You know how I said in my last entry that I had to do a bunch of typing tests and I haz gotz teh mad skillz? Yeah. I guess that's what did it for me. Score one for me. So not impressed with the pay, though. So so so. But, you know... there's the potential for performance bonuses which I can aim for and also... hell, it's one more thing to put on the resume that might be able to lead to something better in the future. So I'm not going to worry too much about money right now. My expenses are relatively few anyway. I should be okay.

Then I went clothes shopping this afternoon... the place has a pretty relaxed dress code, but Emu likes to look pretty anyway and she wanted some new shirts. Then I went out for dinner with Capital City Guy tonight, after my nap. Holy god, when I got home from shopping I just collapsed, I felt so tired. But, yeah, the nap energized me... then after dinner I went back to Capital City Guy's place where I just hung out while he cleaned and we listened to music. Then he wanted me to help him take his old coffee table outside to leave for whoever wanted it. So I did that, then I decided to head home cuz I was starting to feel tired. I stopped to grab a Red Bull for tomorrow morning cuz I'll probably need it. Then when I walked out of the store I saw someone walking down the street carrying the coffee table. That definitely didn't take long. And he was all afraid that no one would take it at all. But apparently it only took, like, 2 minutes for someone to snatch it up.

Anyways... yeah, I'm just working on winding down right now... I really would like to get an almost proper night's sleep before starting the new job tomorrow. That would be nice.


2008-07-03 at 10:51 p.m.