Oh, And Um... Happy Good Friday

So I'm back to (temporarily) writing in here every day, it seems.

Shortly after my entry last night, Thing 1 called me. And, um... yeah. I kinda don't want to see her Saturday night anymore. She just PISSES me off. She was kind of drunk and first of all, she called me a bad friend. Which I kinda am, to a degree, at least to her. In general, I'm a very good friend. But there is something about her that brings out the bad friend in me. Her reasoning for me being a bad friend, though? Because I never call her. I was like "It's long distance! That's 25 cents a minute for me." So she goes "Just use your parents' phone!" So I said "Um... I'd have to pay them back for the long distance charges." "What? They don't just let you call long distance for free? I could call Japan on my parents' phone and they wouldn't care." Yeah, well, my parents... you know... they realize that I'm an adult and they treat me as such. They don't let me constantly take advantage of them like her parents' do with her, and I respect my parents for that.

Then she was all like "And I expect you to take time off and come visit me for my birthday." First of all... I didn't even take time off for my birthday, why would I take time off for her's? Also... she's going to be way the hell and gone in the Big City, and that's not exactly easy for me to get to. Also... her birthday is the same weekend as Giggles', and I already promised Giggles I'd be there for her. Plus, Giggles has the added benefit of wanting to party in the same town as I live, and not hundreds of kilometres away. If I went to the Big City to party with Thing 1 and all her little druggie friends I'd not only be miserable, I'd be miserable in a city that I didn't know and where I didn't know anyone. Fuck. That. And, yeah, okay, maybe THAT is what makes me a bad friend. Not the fact that I don't call her.

So I'm thinking Saturday night will be a "Hey, Thing 1. It's been fun. Good luck in the Big City. If I'm ever there, I'll look you up. Otherwise... have a good life" kind of thing. I don't think our friendship is surviving the distance very well, and she's about to put even more distance into it. We've had some good times and have bonded and all that, but we've also treated each other like shit and we really just shouldn't be friends at all.

In other news, I'm all smitten with Capital City Guy. We talked last night on MSN for a long time... and he wasn't all slow in responding like he normally is. We just talked about stuff that's going on, what we're gonna do Saturday night, all that... it was good. Then this morning when I signed onto MSN, there was a message from him that said "*bear hug* Just thinkin' about you. :)" Awwwwwwwwww! Smitten.

So I start work in about 2 and a half hours now, so I've still got some time for relaxing. My shift is relatively short tonight, which is good. Then, yeah, tomorrow morning off to Cracktown. And I can't even begin to imagine what's going to go down that evening. Definitely expect some interesting stories when I return.


2008-03-21 at 11:48 a.m.