If You Knew Workplace Drama Like I Know Workplace Drama...

Just when things at work couldn't get anymore FUCKED UP... one of the managers has been arrested for stealing merchandise from the store. Actually arrested. Like a police officer came into the store, handcuffed her, and took her away. INSANE. What's even more insane is this happened while I was at work Friday night, but I didn't even know... I guess they were probably purposely trying not to make a big spectacle about it. I mean... I had seen the company bigwig loss prevention guy and the cop together in the store, but I didn't think a whole lot of it. And, yeah, one minute that manager was there and the next she was gone but the managers come and go as they please and, yeah, didn't think a whole lot about it.

I found out Saturday morning, just before I started my shift... Mouth told me, which she technically wasn't supposed to do because management was wanting to take everyone aside to talk to them about it personally. But, yeah, Mouth told me on my way in and just before I started work, I texted Thing 1 to tell her. I knew she had to know as soon as possible, because this is her favourite manager. Anyways, Thing 1 then called Thing 2 who was at the mall and was just like "I need to know what's going on. Please go talk to [Emu-Head] and find out."

So, yeah, I told her all about it and... it's all anyone at work could talk about. Management kept telling us "Please don't talk about it on the floor, if you need to talk about it go to the back." But no one could shut up about it. We had to talk about it. It was just so shocking... it really truly was. It was a weird feeling for me, it was like a feeling I'd never experienced before. Just complete shock and some betrayal and... I don't know. I seriously was in a daze for at least an hour and a half after I started my shift. People were really upset about this.

Thing 1 is UPSET. I was hanging out with her last night drinking (of course) and she just kept going on and on and she was crying so much... and she ended up calling into work today, because she was supposed to be in, and was just like "I can't handle this, I can't come in." It's like... this all may seem a little overly dramatic, but if you really knew this store you'd understand why everyone is just... so many people yesterday was just kind of like "This is the last straw. I need out of here." That store is fucked up. There is some fucked up shit going on, if I may say.

Anyways, other news... I was hanging out with Thing 1 after I got off work... then I was off to downtown to celebrate Curly Sue's birthday with Thing 2 and Angry Girl. I wasn't down there all that long because, first of all... Thing 2 PISSES ME OFF. And not just because of what I talked about a couple entries ago. Honestly, I'm not upset about that anymore. She pisses me off because she's just a bitch, straight up. And... yeah. We were at the bar for a while, spent a bit of time with the birthday girl, then I wanted to catch the last bus back to Thing 1's place. And I ended up spending the night there... just got home, of course. Well she and I were talking a lot about everything, and I wasn't planning on spending the night but at about 4:00 we both passed out and, yeah, I didn't come to again until about 9:00. And now I'm home. I need a goddamn shower, I reek of cigarettes and booze and the scandal of internal theft by a person of authority.

Oh, and last night while I was downtown... I saw the guy from Friday night. Just saw him. He smiled and waved and I smiled and waved... Hmm. I dunno. He was pretty nice. Wink wink nudge nudge know what I mean say no more. A nod's as good as a wink to a blind bat.

I could quite literally sit here and quote Monty Python forever, but I do need that shower I mentioned.


2007-06-03 at 10:13 a.m.