Definitely Not Dedicated To Anything

Work called me this morning, asking if I could pick up an extra shift today. Hmmm, do I want to end up working 9 days in a row? Uh... NO. And I think I'm justified in saying no. Every once in a while at our morning meetings, management bitches at us for the majority of us saying no when they call us out of the blue to pick up extra shifts but, you know... some of us have these things called LIVES and we're maybe just not all that dedicated to our barely above minimum wage jobs. Well, in my case, it's not so much that I have a life at the moment, but I have a dirty apartment and about a month's worth of laundry. But if it weren't for the fact that 9 straight days would make Emu go crazier than she already is, I probably would have gone in. Not for them, but for me. I like money.

But man, I need to do laundry. When I lived at home doing laundry wasn't a big deal, but now it just pisses me off to the nth degree. I just hate it. I put it off until I am completely out of socks and underwear. The laundry room is so far away, and I'm always a little bit paranoid that someone is going to sneak in and steal all of my clothes. That would pretty much ruin my life. Not to mention the fact that I hate having to pay to do laundry, and I really have to plan ahead to be able to have the right change on hand. I think the washing machine should take debit.

I went to the Semi-Good Mall earlier today, which is starting to look quite snazzy. I heard a while ago that they were wanting to really improve it so that people, specifically out-of-towners, would realize that there's more than one mall in this city. I'm kind of intrigued... it might even become better than the Good Mall. But I still think the name change is a bad idea. The new name is just so snooty sounding.

So, yeah, I have all this house work to do, but notice how I'm not doing it. Ha. Well, the day... she is young. I might go out again this afternoon but after that, I'm cracking the whip on myself. I must get some stuff done because after that it's 5 days of work, with only one day off before I have to dive right back in again. Oh, the life of a lazy single working girl in the city, I tells ya... it's just crazy.


2007-03-18 at 1:12 p.m.