That Really Steams My Clams

Okay, I want to have a little informative talk with all my readers right now, and I want you to pass any useful tidbits I give you to your friends and family, because the more people are aware of these things, the less painful my life will be.

Okay.

I do not like it when I say "Hello, how are you?" to a customer when they come up to purchase something, and they respond with "No tax." While I do like to be informed of that before I start ringing stuff through, it doesn't really answer my question. I would much prefer "I'm fine, thank you. And these clothes are non-taxable, please." Takes a little bit more energy, perhaps, but it would sure make me feel a lot better.

And on the topic of the whole non-tax thing... Okay, when I started at this place, I was told that since we are not legally obligated to ask people if clothes are non-taxable, we do not do it. We only take tax off if people say at the beginning of the purchase that it's non-taxable. Clothes are non-taxable, by the way, if they're for kids. Like, kids clothes automatically come up with no PST, but if they're adult-sized clothes being bought for a kid that's 14 or under, you have to tell the cashier that they're tax exempt and they take the PST off while they're ringing it up. So, okay, you really gotta tell the cashier that, even if there's a kid standing next to you because we are trained not to assume anything. It's your responsibility. We are not required to ask. So DON'T give me shit afterwards because it was "obvious". Fuck you, buddy. What are you doing buying adult-sized clothes for a kid that small anyway? That only thing that's obvious here is that you're an idiot and an asshole.

Don't make a big deal if the bag your purchases get packed up in is too big or too small. I have found that no one is ever happy with the size of bag they get. Where I work, we have really small bags, moderately small bags, and freakin' huge bags. Nothing inbetween the moderately small and freakin' huge. Some people would rather their purchases be in a bag that's slightly too small than have to carry around a massive bag, but others think you're some kind of idiot if you do that. Then if you just put it in the big bag: "That bag's too big! I want a smaller bag!" And some people would prefer multiple small bags and others would prefer it all in one big bag and just... ugh. Just ugh.

And, unless it's a matter of life and death, don't ask that all your purchases be rung up as 3 different transactions. Especially if it's after the store has already closed. Because that really fucking pisses me off.

Heh heh, it was kind of funny today because management said to me "Do you ever get a customer that makes you so angry that if you look at them for one more second you're just going to end up punching them in the face?" I laughed. But man, I've so been there. Multiple times today, infact.


2007-02-04 at 7:59 p.m.