Look At Me, I'm Sandra Dee!

Get ready to tell me what an idiot I am.

Here I am... 21 years old... guess what I did for the first time today? Well, two firsts right here... I bought a pack of cigarettes. And I smoked. *audiable gasps from my reading audience*

Okay, I hung out with a couple of my underage co-workers today before our Christmas party. And first of all... I was going to buy these fine young ladies some booze. However, the only liquor store nearby was a government-owned one, and we all know those are not open on Sundays. So while my one young co-worker was phoning the other one to say "We can't buy boooooooze!" she asked me if I could at least go into the grocery store and get her a pack of cigarettes. And I did.

Now, like I said, I've never bought a pack of smokes before. I didn't realize that when you do, they take your drivers licence and enter the number on it into their little computer there... I semi-freaked out. So, is that going to be on my record forever, that I bought a pack of cigarettes once? And for a minor, none the less? Oh jeez.

Then... yeah. We went back to the one co-workers place where the three of us happy retail employees and the one's boyfriend all proceded to get semi to totally wasted on what alcohol was left at her place, before the Christmas partay. This already does not sound like the Emu because, for all intents and purposes, I do not drink. But, you know, it's Christmas. Well, not really, but it's close enough. And, yeah, a Bacardi Breezer and two Rum & Pepsis later, and I was good to go.

So we all get picked up by a couple of other co-workers to go to the party, and then on the way to the restaurant when everyone lights up but me, my drunken ass starts whining "Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! I feel so left out!" so one of them hands me their cigarette, and I proceed to take a few drags on it. Didn't think anything of it. Just did it. Now, there goes my squeaky clean "I've never even tried smoking!" image. Then I went out with the bunch of them a couple more times during the party, where I got a few more puffs out of various people's cigarettes.

All work and no play makes the Emu throw her perfect track record out the window. My parents would fucking slaughter me if they knew I did that. But... whatever. I'm not about to take up the habit. I've just really always wanted to secretly (or not so secretly) try it, and apparently I just needed a few drinks in me to get the courage to finally do it.

The alcohol wore off about half way through the Christmas dinner, as I think it did with the other 3 as well, and all of a sudden none of us were having much fun anymore, so we all went home early. But... yeah. Before that? Good times. Good semi-drunken times.


2006-12-03 at 8:52 p.m.