Happy Mental Health Day!

I'm playing hooky today. Kinda.

Well, when I called into work this morning, I said I wasn't feeling well. And that is the truth. I am 100% not well. However, whether that "not feeling well" is a physical thing, a mental thing, or a physical thing caused by a mental thing, is still up for debate.

I'm mostly just tired, and these past couple of days at work have not been easy for me. I'm not sure why, but I've just found them extremely taxing on my sanity. Maybe because it's been sort of slow because of the bad weather... Monday night was DEAD. It was the first day of the extended Christmas mall hours, which a lot of people probably didn't realize, plus factor in the bad road conditions and it was just painful to be there. The store is never dead when you need it to be dead. It's just dead when there's nothing to do. Even though there were people not coming in to work because they didn't want to risk the drive, we were still over-staffed and it was just a horrible, soul-killing experience. Then yesterday at work... pretty much the same thing.

So. Last night I was sitting here thinking that I really couldn't put up with a third straight day of that shit. And considering earlier this week they almost cancelled today's shift altogether, I figured today was as good of a day as any to take a "Mental Health Day", as my mom puts it. But then when I woke up this morning... I really didn't feel all that great. I think that might be my subconscious kicking in, trying to justify me taking today off because I do feel guilty about this. I shouldn't, though. You know, yesterday marked my 3 month anniversary working at that place. In that time... never missed a shift, never turned down an additional shift or extended shift(except for that time when I just completely ignored a phone call from work, but we can just pretend that didn't happen... I mean, I never turned down an additional/extended shift that was offered to me in person, and there were plenty of those...), was never late (except for the couple times management changed the schedule without telling me, but that wasn't my fault) and never left early (well except for that time that management suggested it, but I don't think that counts). I deserve today. It'll help me re-charge, and I'll be 110% tomorrow, when I know I'll actually have stuff to do at work.

Still heavily debating whether or not I want to stay at this job or go back to my old one after Christmas. I need to decide pretty quick, because if I want to go back to my old job I'll have to go reapply pretty soon. And if I want to stay at this one, I'll have to start looking for a second job pretty soon too. Despite it all, I do kinda like my job. But it's a very unstable job. I can't depend on it. And it sure is hard to get there and/or get home again a lot of times. So... I don't know. I'm going to spend today really thinking about this.

I'm also going to spend today doing laundry. I've neglected it too long.


2006-11-29 at 8:53 a.m.