Oh, The Weather Outside Is Frightful...

Ah hahahahahaha.

So... school's closed today. Transit is delayed, re-routed, or cancelled altogether. Power outages, car crashes, general chaos all around... all because of some powdery white stuff falling from the sky.

I'm supposed to work this afternoon, and I'll most likely be going, unless the transit schedule is really screwed up. I just checked their website and there are problems on a lot of routes, including the one I take. I'll check the site again a bit later, and then maybe I'll call them as well just to see what the hell and then... yeah. If there's too many delays or problems or if the bus isn't running on that route at all... well, I ain't going to work. Obviously.

There's probably going to be tons of people not going to work today, though. I was chatting on MSN yesterday with a co-worker who lives out of town, and she says she's not going to be driving all the way to work in these conditions. I don't have problems venturing out into the snow... I've lived through a lot worse than this. I have trekked through several feet of snow in minus 40 degree temperatures to get to school. Uphill both ways, of course. And in bare feet. But, no, in all seriousness, I have done that. And you can take the girl out of the prairies, but you can't take the prairies out of the girl, so this stuff doesn't bother me. But if there's lots of problems with transit today, like there appears to be... well, that makes my life more difficult.

Yesterday I stayed in all day, because I wasn't feeling well. And also, yeah, there was a lot of snow and I'm still not a fan of voluntarily subjecting myself to the stuff. I started out my day being really productive and getting some stuff done that needed doing, but as the day went on I just got less and less inspired. So then I ended up eating more than I should have, and just lying around feeling sorry for myself. Good times.

Man, I need the money but I'm really hoping I do have a good excuse to not go to work today. We'll see...


2006-11-27 at 8:45 a.m.