And I Need To Go Cry Now

So... here is my new computer. Isn't it pretty? Isn't it fast? Isn't it, at least at the moment, completely bullshit-free?

I like it pretty okay. I have named it Ace, since it's an Acer. There are a couple of things that bother me a bit, though. Like when I close it, it shuts off. My last laptop you could close it and it would stay running. I'm sure there's probably some way to tell it not to do this, but damned if I know what it is. Also there's absolutely no word processing software on here. Not even a crummy version of Microsoft Works. So I'm going to have to borrow my mom's bootleg copy of Microsoft Office and load 'er up. Can't use Notepad for things like doing up resumes and stuff. That would look pretty lame.

I was originally just going to set my old computer on fire, but then my dad said he wanted it and also I realized... yeah, there's some things I want off of there. I don't know if I'm going to be able to get them, though. At first I wasn't concerned at all with trying to salvage any files but there's a lot of pictures on there that I've taken with the digital camera and no hard copies exist so I'd probably be upset if I lost those. I wouldn't mind being able to get those mp3s off of there and onto this computer as well, but I dunno about that.

I'm really upset about today. I was originally supposed to have today off, and having an actual traditional weekend off at this job is almost unheard of. But then, in my money-hungry stupidity, I agreed to cover someone's 4 and a half hour shift today and... you know, despite the fact that it's only 4 and a half hours, it ruins the entire day. I'm going to end up being gone for a total of about 7 hours. No time to do anything else. Plus look at it out there. It's miserable. One of those days where I'd rather just stay inside.

And my 6 day work week starts now. I am not thrilled. I'm exhausted right now, and I can only imagine what kind of basketcase I'll be after all this. I'm afraid.


2006-10-08 at 8:07 a.m.