Oh My God, What Have I Done?!?

So I'm at the library right now. My computer is now officially dead. RIP Lappy: October 2003 to October 2006. You have been loved.

It's kind of funny, it's been slowly deteriorating for a few months now, but then in the last couple days... just boom. Went straight to hell.

So this morning, and this is incredibly out of character for me... I went and bought a new laptop computer. I got a really great deal because it was a demo model and also because it's missing its battery. There's a hole in the side of it from where they had screwed in their anti-theft thingie and there's a few scratches and stuff on the outside of it but... I got a good deal. And I know I got a good deal. So I'm pretty happy. Buying a computer was something I was going to do regardless of Lappy's death in the next couple months, so... yeah. I think I did the right thing.

Can you tell I'm still trying to justify this to myself? I hate spending money. I did have enough in my bank account to cover the whole cost of this but man, this brings things down a lot. I need a computer, though. It's basically the only contact I have with my mom. It's my number one source of entertainment. I'm nothing without a computer. So, yeah, I figure this is okay. I figure I did the right thing.

So I'm picking up the computer this afternoon, they're just setting it up right now for me. I'm quite sure I'm going to go insane while waiting. I'll probably just go home and clean or something until it's time to go get it. Gotta keep myself occupied.

But, yeah, I figured I'd just make a detour over to the library here on my way home from this year's largest purchase and write about it. Hopefully I'll be able to get my new computer set up right away. I dunno, is it as easy as just plugging an already cable internet-filled modem into a computer and it's ready to go? I'm so clueless. I should ask about that when I go pick it up. I hope it'll be easy enough to do.

Anyways... I have today off. Then I work 6 days straight. And 4 of those days will involve me walking at least one way to work. I'm tired just thinking about this. But... well, more so now than ever... I NEED THE MONEY.


2006-10-07 at 10:56 a.m.