If I Never Write Again It's Because I Died On My Way Home

So it's Labour Day, which does mean no buses and the fact that I've had to sponge a ride off of the Little Chickita to get to work and will most likely be walking home afterwards, but I'm excited anyways because those little asshole kids will be going back to school tomorrow!!!!! Yay! I wish I was going back to school but since I'm not, I can at least be happy about the streets/stores/buses being less crowded starting tomorrow.

Speaking of buses being crowded... I worked until closing last night, for the first time. So, it being a Sunday when the bus schedule is, to put it politely, fucked up, I had to wait an hour after work for the bus. And it was the last bus, being a Sunday. I weep at the fact that the last bus on this route on Sundays is at 6:30. That was something I hoped they'd fix with the new bus schedule but no, of course not! Why would they want to do something like that? Anyways... every man and their huge load of groceries got on the bus. Literally at one stop on the way, there was a person standing there with a shopping cart completely full of groceries. It took them, like, 5 minutes to load it all on to the bus. People who had to transfer buses later on were freaking out at the delay. I just couldn't believe someone would do that, especially when the bus was full and late already.

The actual working until closing was okay, except for the mandatory person running up to buy a million things 5 minutes after the store was technically closed. But you come to expect that, really. So it was okay.

I've been pretty lucky with my shifts. I mean, not so much with getting lots of hours, obviously, because I am most definitely not getting that at the moment. But the timings. Yesterday was the first time working until closing, and for the next week, at least, I don't do it again. I'm hoping there's enough students working at the store that it really is a rare occurance for me. And it seems like most of the people are students, so hopefully I should be good. Also this will be two Saturdays in a row that I'm not scheduled to work. I can handle that. I can handle that just fine. Just hope I haven't jinxed it now by talking about it.

Anyways, in case anyone is interested in my parents' car problems, my dad got his car running... sorta. Only thing is he has to keep the battery from my mom's busted up car in his car, because his battery has to get a jump start every time you start the car. Which is a pain in the ass, it sounds like. So my parents are car shopping. My dad's car is pretty old and in horrible shape anyhoo. I'm interested to see what it is that they get.


2006-09-04 at 7:12 a.m.