I Always Was Sensible. I Just Didn't Always Show It.

The last few days it's felt like I've been going absolutely insane. I constantly feel like I'm about 3 seconds away from crying. And I'm finding it even harder than usual to focus on anything. I don't know what's wrong. And I want it to stop immediately.

I went downtown this morning, in search of something to inspire me. I don't think I found it. I went to the library there, though, and got out a book about anxiety. I don't really talk about it that much, although I'm sure the hidden message behind everything I write in here just screams it, but I have just a tiny bit of an anxiety problem. And, of course, by "a tiny bit" I mean "a paralyzing amount". I don't really know if that's what's making me go insane right now, but I've definitely had an increase in my anxiety levels just in general ever since I moved out on my own. So maybe reading this book will help me out. Or maybe it won't. Doesn't matter. The library is free anyway.

I ended up walking by the TV station downtown, since it's right next to the library, and I stopped to peer in, because it's been all renovated or whatever since the last occasion I took the time to press my face against the window, and it looks all super shiny and impressive now on TV. Anyways, so I walked up to the building and looked in the window and a figure who appeared to be Friendly Neighbourhood Reporter Man just happened to be sitting right there and looked up at me. So I just casually walked away. That was the first time I've seen him, though, since the... uh... "incident". A very small part of me wanted to stand there and yell "Hey Friendly Neighbourhood Reporter Man! It's me, Emu-Head!" But the other very large part of me did not want him calling the cops. I like it when my sensible side wins. Works out better for everyone.

I got a new bank card today, because I was tired of my old one constantly embarassing me. Having to swipe it, like, 20 times before it actually worked. And I always looked like a complete jackass, especially when it's one of those stores where you swipe your debit card yourself and after trying it numerous times, the cashier finally gets fed up and grabs it from you to swipe it themself. Yeah, I got pretty tired of that. I know the problem was just that it was getting old and worn out, though. So I got a new card. But then what happened when I went to make a purchase with it today? Same damn thing. So, of course, yet again, the cashier thought I was some sort of incompetant idiot. I used to swipe debit cards for a living, though, so I don't understand what my problem is. Hopefully that was just an isolated incident today, though. But if it happens to me again, well... I guess I'll just have to stop buying stuff. Or start using cash.

Anyways, I've got housework and laundry to do. Better hop to it.


2006-05-26 at 12:59 p.m.