What Goes Up Must Come Down

So I went grocery shopping this morning, mainly to buy bread and cheese so that I can continue my grilled cheese sandwich habit. I picked up a couple other things too. I bought apples. Apparently I should be doing more to avoid getting scurvy. Anyways, after I got home from this and was looking at the receipt... I totally didn't get charged for the cheese. I got free cheese. Yay to that.

But then when I was doing laundry just now... I appear to be missing one of my favourite socks, and I can't find it. So because I got free cheese, I have to lose a sock. Seems like a weird trade off. And I really would have preferred to pay for the cheese than lose that sock. So my good mood that came with the free cheese has now been ruined by this.

I'm really not in the mood to do anything else today. Although I do think I should probably go back to the laundry room to see if I can find that sock. But... yeah. Not in the mood to do much today. So the day is really dragging. I'd really like to finish reading The DaVinci Code today, if I can. I think I've only got, like, 60 pages left. I think I can do it. It's a good book, but I'm really not buying into it at all. And I don't mean the actual DaVinci Code part of it. I mean the fact that, despite their situation, the characters spend soooo much time discussing things. Yeah, there's too much dialogue. If I were them, I just wouldn't be in the mood to talk as much as they do.

I've pretty much for sure decided that I'd like to get a second job. Or at least a volunteer job. Something to do on weekends. Because I've more than proven it to myself that I'm not very good with spare time. I think I really do need something else to occupy myself with. So maybe that'll be my project for next weekend, trying to find something. Oooh, except maybe I should go to Nutty McShitville next weekend. I've been making and breaking promises to do that for a while. Oh, I don't know. All I know is that I refuse to piss away next weekend like I have with this one.

And I just gotta go on the record as saying, now that I've watched it a couple of times... that "oh, there's an entire world outside of the capital city" news show is actually kind of good. Although it does kind of prove that there isn't a whole lot going on. But it's a good concept. Yep.


2006-05-12 at 1:18 p.m.