Shock The Emu

The bus is so funny. I took the bus this afternoon (yes, I know, on a Sunday... even after what I wrote about the Sunday bus schedule last week) and a group of us were standing at the bus stop when the wrong bus comes rolling up. And none of us move, because it's the wrong bus. But then the bus driver sticks up the number of fingers of the bus it's supposed to be, and then we all get on. Is this a new thing? If it is, it's rather primitive. I was always under the impression that those electronic sign things that state which bus it is were pretty easy to change.

Also, I love these people who would rather stand on the bus than sit next to someone. Human beings are such funny creatures.

Oh, and there was this one girl who got on the bus... she must have paid the entire fare with pennies. That's what it sounded like, at least. Crazyness.

Anyways... I went out for coffee this afternoon with a guy who reads this here diary. I know... I'm still baffled by the whole thing too. If I were on the outside looking in, I'd have no desire to meet me. But whatever. It was all good. He was very nice. And I won't speculate on whether or not I made an ass out of myself (although I do believe all signs point to yes... let's face it, the day I'm not making an ass out of myself is the day I'm lying motionless in that pine box... and even then, I'm not so sure). But... yeah. It was good. Extremely nice guy. It's just too bad that I was too much in shock to be more interesting.

I shock easily, by the way. And I've been in a permanent state of shock for about a month now, so I don't think I'm going to be getting over it any time soon.

I went grocery shopping this morning. I love grocery shopping. That's gotta be my favourite activity, besides the actual consumption of the groceries I buy. Anyways, it was about 9:00 when I walked out of the store and as I'm leaving, this guy comes up to me and asks "Uh... where's the nearest liquor store?" Dude! It's entirely too early. Plus the fact that I had no idea where the liquor store was. I mean, I know I've walked by it, but I've walked by a lot of things. And I couldn't remember the street name, or where it was by. So I was just like "I don't know. Sorry." But that was weird.

People have to stop asking me for directions to things. I get this so often... I must always look like I know where I'm going. But it's all an act. Although yesterday someone asked me for directions to a place that I actually knew. It was great. I felt so smart. But that won't happen again for a while. Because I am pretty much permanently lost.


2006-04-02 at 3:19 p.m.