This Town Has A Weird Smell That You're Probably All Used To... But I'm Not

A happy hello from Cracktown!

Actually, not so happy of a hello. I'd be lying if I said I'm not still crying a little. My mom left me half an hour ago. And jeez, even just typing that has made me totally start up again. Aw man. I'm really really going to miss her a lot. At least at the beginning. I mean... she's going to be back here on Saturday and again on my birthday but I still feel like I'm dying right now.

Anyways... on to happier stuff. I'm very very impressed. Cable guy was here at 12:30 and hooked me up real good. High speed cable internet. It seems faster than the DSL that I'm used to. I thought the two were pretty much equal, but this definitely feels faster. And my new pretty modem! Sleek and sexy.

In total, I'd say I dropped close to $500 today. Actually... over $1000, if you include the rent in there. Shit. Independent livin' ain't cheap, y'all. It's really cold in here right now but I don't particularly want to turn up the heat, because I have to pay for it now. But... well, I'll never know how expensive it is to heat this place unless I do it. Excuse me for a sec...

Ooooh, it's making a cracking noise. Is that normal? I have so much to learn.

I also have so much to clean. I've already vacuumed the place, but that's all. I'm sure the place is already relatively clean, but it won't feel totally clean until I clean it myself. Then I'll KNOW it's clean. But I'm so tired. Needless to say, I didn't sleep much last night. Then I was up to finish packing really early this morning. Then I was running around town here, buying all the things I still needed to survive. I'm exhausted. I really gotta clean that bathroom, though. I don't trust it.

So... yeah. I'm no where near all set up and settled in yet, obviously. But I got my computer and TV hooked up and that's all that really matters. This all feels so weird, though. I mean... this is my place! It's a bit of a shithole, but it's my shithole. And that's crazy.

Anyways... I gotta get myself a new cell phone number. I should do that now. And then maybe I should clean my bathroom, so I won't feel so weird about using it.


2006-03-01 at 2:23 p.m.