I Feel The Massive Heart Attack Coming On

So I've had a bit of a bizarre morning. I decided that today would be the day that I'd call the cable and electric companies and set up all of that good stuff for the new place. But if there's ever something for me to be the least bit unsure about, I'm going to be unsure about it. The thing I'm unsure about this time is my apartment number. I'm about 95% sure I know what it is, but not enough that I want to start giving it out to these people. So I've spent the whole morning trying to get through to the apartment manager. I first called at 9:00, and it was busy. So I tried again 5 minutes later. And so on and so on, eventually replacing "5 minutes later" with "10 minutes later" and then "30 minutes later". Busy every time.

So even though I'll feel slightly less stupid calling the apartment manager and asking "Where exactly is is that I'm living again?" than I would re-calling the cable and electricity companies and saying "Uh... I gave you the wrong address", I might just have to call them anyway. I'll call the apartment one more time at 1:00, but then if they're still busy, that's it. They're obviously having issues today.

I'm also kinda paranoid that they're going to end up giving the apartment to someone else. Somehow it wouldn't surprise me. I mailed them the deposit cheque last week, and ever since then a bunch of what ifs have been going through my head. Tis my way, though. Even though the apartment manager said it was mine, and that I had until the end of the month to get the deposit cheque to them. I'm a chronic worrier, though. And if I wasn't worrying about every little thing that could possibly go wrong, then I just wouldn't be me.


2006-02-20 at 12:33 p.m.