How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Embrace The Chaos

Last Thursday the city I live in had a very wide spread, albeit fairly short, power outage. Ever since then my life has been a living hell. Due to unfortunate circumstances, my job requires more tech support than I would like. I really have no training/understanding of it at all, but it's been thrust onto me. And the programming of the system we use at work is so overly complicated and prehistoric that even the guy working there with the computer science degree can't make sense of it a lot of the time.

So anyways. If the power goes out and the system can be properly shut down during the 2 and a half minutes of battery backup we have, then turned back on again as soon as possible, things will be okay. But that was not the case this time, and I'm STILL dealing with the aftermath. Mind you, I've learned a lot from the problems caused by the power outage this time. A few more power outages and I might almost have a working knowledge of our system and how to fix all the stupid little things that go wrong. What a stressful and completely full of bullshit pain in the ass it is, though.

Friday I went in to work early, because I knew there'd be problems. I didn't think there'd be problems today, and I don't normally start until 40 minutes after the place opens, but I ended up getting a phone call this morning asking me to explain how to fix things that I don't even understand. So I literally had to run to work (I don't have a car, because I'm kind to the environment in that way) and do it myself while people sat there doing nothing, waiting for me to get there so they could start. So unnecessarily stressful. I'm going in early tomorrow, HOPEFULLY to find out that things are permanently (at least until the next power outage...) fixed now. And if they are, I'm immediately going to leave again to grab some breakfast.

In other news, the new Maple Moose flavoured Lays chips are ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING (how the HELL did they win?!?!) and Bingo Blitz is in my shit books until they give me the credits I paid for. Yes, I paid money to play an online Bingo game that doesn't give out cash prizes. I don't make a habit of it, but this'll definitely be my last time. I'm really not impressed. Tell your friends not to play Bingo Blitz. They're not nice people.


2013-12-09 at 8:04 p.m.