I'm Back, Baby! Did You Miss Me?!?!?!!?!?

Hi! It's been... well, 2 and a half years or so.

I really want to start keeping a journal again! I miss it. I'm addicted to Twitter, but I'm finding it harder and harder to keep within the 140 character limit. I can't be held hostage to that kind of stuff.

I'm pretty sure no one is on Diaryland anymore, though. I just looked at my old buddy list and every single person was listed as "more than three months since last updated". Without looking, I'm betting all of those are much much more than just three months.

On the off chance that I have any old readers returning, let me fill you in on my life changes since early 2011. I got a promotion at work! Full time supervisor as of March 2011. Also, with my manager on the brink of retirement, I'm slowly yet surely being groomed for her job. ALSO! I got married! Engaged December 2011 and got married September of this year. Married life is pretty sweet. I did indeed get married to the boyfriend I had during my last time of writing (whom I no longer want to refer to by the stupid nickname I gave him before, so from now on will be known as The Boy). We now live in the condo he lived in when we first started dating (he lived with me in my old place, and we briefly lived in another place as well before ending up back here) and we plan on buying it soon from his dad, who owns it. It's a little further out from downtown than I've been used to, and it's been nice living in a safer and quieter neighbourhood.

Other than that.. I don't know. Life goes on. The writing bug has hit me a lot more lately. Its absence was the main reason I stopped writing before. The Boy is a writer, quite a good one, and that inspires me. Plus his wit has rubbed off of me too. My writing quality got pretty shitty towards the end there because... well, I just lost my sense of humour. My entries became more of a blow to blow recount of my day, as opposed to adding hilarious twists to all of my misery.

What else? Well, I don't really get outrageously drunk anymore and I definitely don't sleep around anymore, so those stories are a thing of the past. They were always good for material, but not so good for self esteem. I still like to get a nice buzz on, but now being the ripe old age of 28 I just can't handle my liquor like I used to. I went out for a girly night/belated bachelorette party a month and a half ago and I literally almost died as a result of it. I thought I stayed relatively sober and alert through the night, and managed to wake up and make it home from my sister-in-law's house (yeah, I partied with my sister-in-law... she's fun, what can I say?) the next morning while thinking I was okay, but as soon as I got in the door... NOPE! Cue the marathon vomiting sessions. At least it held off until I made it home. Good gravy Marie, am I thankful for that much. Because my way home included about 45 minutes on buses. And I've made it this far in my life without vomiting on a bus, I don't need to start now.

I DON'T HAVE MANY FRIENDS AT THE MOMENT! It's a sad time. Part of me would like to change that, but another part of me has a hard enough time finding enough time in the day as it is, I don't need to complicate that even more with those pesky hangers-on. I miss the friends I've lost along the way, but such is life, I guess. We've gone separate directions, matured at different rates... as I've gotten to the point where more and more of my friends are 30+ I've become shocked at how 30 is not as old as it used to be anymore. Most of my friends in their 30s seem younger than me. But perhaps I've become old before my time. I feel like I have.

So, long story short... I've become old and boring, but I'd like to write about it! I hope you join me on my journey.


2013-11-23 at 7:45 p.m.