I Quit Jobs Like They Don't Matter

Yeah, okay. Am I done spazzing out all over the place?

Well... no. But I'm cool for now.

Except for the fact that I've already decided I'm not going to work tomorrow and, um... yeah, I might be quitting on Monday. I'm going to take tomorrow to really think about it. But, you know... if nothing else, I just cannot handle sitting for long periods of time. Today I didn't get my break until 5 and a half hours into my shift, and I was just in agony. I think I have bad circulation or something, but my legs have been killing me ever since I started this job, and it's just gotten progressively worse. When I'm walking I'm fine, but when I'm sitting for more than about an hour... the pain is insane. And today it actually made me cry. When I finally got my break today, I had to go and walk up and down this big hill nearby until my legs finally started to feel normal. But then as soon as I got back to work, the pain started up again.

If that isn't a legitimate reason to quit a job, I don't know what is. I mean, the fact that my co-workers are pricks and the job itself blows the big one are factors as well, but... no man, I can't handle the pain. I'm, like, hovering over my desk right now because I just don't ever want to sit again.

I'm going to fall back on the old "oh, I have enough money in the bank to risk unemployment for a little while if I feel it's my only option" excuse that I used last summer. I'd rather not quit this job without something else lined up but... I gotta do what I gotta do.

Plus, you know, oh, I've pretty much accepted the fact that I have to start medicating myself again. If I quit this job it'll actually be the perfect excuse to start up on the anti-depressants again, since they always make me so sick when I start them that I'd be missing work anyway. Plus while I'm in there I can ask the doctor about my legs... except I totally know that he'll just be like "So... they hurt when you sit but not when you're standing? Stop sitting then." Because that's the kind of brilliant advice doctors give you.

I hate doctors.

Uncle Moneybags has made a genelogy website for the family... he gave me the address, I've had a look... apparently my grandfather had 3 siblings. What in the friggin' hell, I always thought that he was an only child. But then I don't know much about the man... I only really learned about how he died a couple years ago when I found an old newspaper article at my grandma's house. We just don't talk about him. He died when my mom was a child, but yet during that short amount of time he apparently made her life hellish enough that she will hate him forever. Yeah... sounds like a great man. Anyways... what was my point? Oh yeah, this website. Uh... he got my parents anniversary wrong. And he has my uncle listed as being still alive, when he died 7 years ago. Oh, and he doesn't have Cousin Hardass' kid on there. But, you know, other than that... bang on. I actually find that stuff kind of fascinating. My mom's side of the family have an interesting history. My grandma's family were very influential during the early days of the Nutty McShitville area, and they have a couple streets named after them. And my grandfather's dad was an MLA. And... yes. You don't care, I know.

Anyways... I need to go on about a 6 hour walk to make my legs feel better. Emu out.


2007-09-15 at 6:04 p.m.