I Hope This Is My Last Year Having To Do This Kind Of Work

So today after work I stopped to do a little grocery shopping. A while ago I bought some shredded cheese, and have since gotten quite accustomed to sprinkling it on... oh, pretty much everything. So since I was running low I was planning to buy some more, but then opted for a block of cheese instead, figuring it comes out cheaper per gram than the shredded stuff and that I could just grate it at home and save a bit of money. While I was waiting for the bus to come home, though, a thought came to me... I do not own a cheese grater. Ha. There goes my brilliant plan. Guess I'll just have to cut it up then.

Anyways, work today was fine except for the fact that I was dying the entire time. I coughed up a few lungs, and for at least a couple hours there I'm pretty sure I didn't breathe at all. Made for fun times.

You know, thinking about working this Christmas season is giving me anxiety attacks. Good god, why am I doing this? I mean, I worked retail last Christmas too, but that was different because it was the mall in Nutty McShitville and, except for Boxing Day which was pretty busy, the rest of the time it was completely dead. But now, in the big city... the shopping mecca of this area where people come from all over the place to buy stuff... it's going to be insane. It's already started to get insane, and it's still just the beginning of November.

At work there's this sheet where you write down whether you want Christmas Eve, Boxing Day, New Years Eve, or New Years Day off. I'm still thinking about this. I've already ruled out Christmas Eve and New Years Eve, because at least there's buses on those days. The other two, though... not so much. Now can anyone tell me why the fuck there's no buses on Boxing Day? It's only the biggest shopping day of the year. You think people aren't going to want to go places? That makes me angry. I'm thinking I might ask for Boxing Day off, but that seems to be the popular choice amongst the people who have already decided. I might have deliberated too long to be able to get that. Oh, I don't know. A whole new job entirely by the time Christmas rolls around would be really nice. Then I wouldn't have to worry so much about everything.


2006-11-07 at 3:39 p.m.