Why Is This My Calling? Why?!

So, on this sunny afternoon, I appear to find myself employed once again. Well... 95% for sure. They still want to check my references, which makes me a little bit nervous because I know the manager of that place I only worked at for 3 days had a hard time getting through to any of them. One of them, I'll admit, seems to have fallen off of the face of the planet. I hope she still exists. Another one I'm always a little bit afraid will just say "Who?!" if she ever gets called, even though she did give me permission to use her as a reference anytime. The other one, though, gave me a kick ass reference when my last real job got in contact with her. So, um... I hope they can get through to her, at least.

But yeah, for the most part I got the job. Apparently I impressed everyone. Like the person who I gave the resume to this morning apparently, when she passed it on to the manager later on, said "This one is going to work out. I can tell." And I aced the interview this afternoon as well. I'm professional as hell. Well, in the last month, I've had 3 interviews... and they basically all asked the same questions. So if I'm not well rehearsed by now, I never will be.

Um... yeah, provided the whole reference thing doesn't end up blowing up in my face, I start next week. And it sounds like this place actually trains employees, which was pretty much my number 1 complaint with that last semi-job, the fact that they just litterally threw me out to the wolves. I hate that. I'd rather be over-trained than under-trained, and it does sound like this place is verging on over-training people but hey, that's fine. And yes, this is a retail job. I'm beginning to think that I'm doomed to a life of this, because I seem to have very little problem getting myself retail jobs. But my favourite part of this... they have taken into consideration my previous experience and are offering me what I consider to be quite a decent pay. No complaints, no complaints.

Well, no complaints yet. Once I start the job, it might be a different story.

So, yeah. Next Monday I start. So dudes!!! Last week of freedom here, most likely. What should I do?


2006-08-22 at 3:29 p.m.