I'm Bringing Crazy Back

My frustration completely ruined my day off. I'm too much of a thinker. I hope I don't sound like some prissy little brat or anything like that, with my "Ooooh, I don't like my job. I wanna quit!" thing but... well, it's hard to explain. It's just that, once again, I've made a really bad judgement call.

I explained the situation to my mom, in more detail than I'd feel comfortable ever putting in here, and she said to me that I should quit tomorrow, without me even saying that I wanted to quit. I mean... I feel like I was mislead with this job. Maybe it's my fault for not being aware of this before hand, but I think it's also the fault of the employer for not really explaining this before she hired me. She explained everything else in an excruiating amount of detail during the interview, but yet she only vaguely hinted at what it is that I'm so deadset again, and I didn't think that she meant it was quite like this.

I hate the thought of quitting, because I'm not a quitter, despite appearances. With every job I've quit (which has only been 2, so far), it's been because I was at my absolute breaking point. I don't quit jobs because I feel like it. I don't quit jobs because I'm unhappy with how things are going. I quit jobs when it starts to ruin my entire life. Because, let's face it... my life isn't bad by any means, but it's not great enough that I can handle an overly shitty job because everything else is perfect. You know what I mean? I can have a great personal life and a shitty job, or a great job and a shitty personal life, but I just can't handle both at this time. Maybe someday I will. Maybe someday I won't have a choice. But I still think I'm young enough and stupid enough to try and go for a better existance than what I have.

I mean... not that my personal life is bad, like I said. I'm actually quite content with it. But it's obviously not good enough for me to be able to put up with a bullshit job, and still continue the rest of my life like business as usual. I haven't slept since I got this job, by the way. At least not much. And after all of the "talking to's" that I got from my manager all through my shift yesterday AND on the way home, I was so livid that I couldn't stop shaking for at least an hour after I got home last night. Is it worth this shit for minimum wage? Hell no. And since I not only have my mom's blessing but her recommendation to give this short stint of a job the old heave ho, which makes me feel like my feelings are justified because she's normally very anti-quitting anything... well... we'll see what happens. I still hate the absolute idea of quitting. Because I've put up with a lot of weird stuff in my life time, and I always like to think that I can handle anything. But when I discover that I can't, I feel like a failure in the worst possible way.

Anyways... if nothing else, this job seems to be bringing out the abnormally long entries in me. I hate that as much as you must hate it reading this. Infact... I'm willing to bet that the whole lot of you have checked out already. So I might as well do the same.


2006-08-11 at 7:24 p.m.