Don't Do What Emu Does

Okay, so yesterday's entry sucked, and didn't really say anything. I just really wanted to write about it, but found myself quite unable to form sentences. So I'm going to try this again.

Um, yeah... not impressed. Not impressed with my choice. I mean, what I had decided to do on Tuesday was just go into every store in the mall that had a sign in their window saying they were hiring (which is, essentially, every store). So what I should have done is actually just choose stores that I actually wanted to work in. Heh. Because this was the first store that that I dropped a resume off at, and I got hired virtually right away. So I really should have been a little bit more selective.

I've never liked this particular store, because their prices aren't all that great and their employees are like vultures. Also this is a job that I've done to DEATH at another store. My mom was all like, when I told her about this, "Oh, that's great! I know that's your thing." Um... no. It's not my thing. It's just the thing that apparently I've been cursed with.

Also, and I admit this straight out (although not to my employer...): I do not have the personality for retail. I just don't. I fully realize this. My experience in retail has taught me the ability to fake it, at least for a little while, but honestly, I find the whole thing soul killing. And time takes on a whole new form when working in a store. It slows to a crawl, even if you're busy. One thing in the credit of my old job is that no matter how bad it was and how suicidal I felt, the time always went quickly. But retail is quite the opposite.

And I'm back to minimum wage. Apparently, though, the manager wants to make me a keyholder for the store once I know enough to be able to do that, and when (if) that happens I'll get paid more. But damn, y'all. I just cannot believe what I've gotten myself into. I'm still actively looking for a new job, by the way. I figure that if I look at this as something to do to keep myself occupied and bring some money in until something better comes along, as opposed to this being a career choice, I'll be less depressed.

Oh, and... I really shouldn't have complained about the bus schedule yesterday. Because today is going to be far worse. I'll have a massive wait both before work and after work. I suppose this is the reason why people own cars, eh? Now I understand.

And I tried so hard to sleep in this morning because I'm working late tonight but... no such luck. I expect to be quite dead by the time I finally get home. Not only that but I've always hated having HOURS to wait before starting work. Because I don't ever want to do anything during that time. All I can do is sit there and feel the dread slowly spread through my body. Another thing in my old job's credit... started early, ended early. Oh yes.

Not to say that I regret quitting my old job, because I still think it's the best decision I've made. As much as I hate retail, I don't find it stressful, for the most part, whereas I found my old job extremely stressful, and I just can't handle that.


2006-08-10 at 7:13 a.m.