Hot Enough To Make People Cranky

Ugh. I hate this heat. Hot enough to dehydrate an egg on the sidewalk, as they just proved on the news. That was funny. So maybe I shouldn't complain, since it's not actually hot enough to fry an egg, just dehydrate it.

I got up early this morning so I could go for a a walk at 5:00, while it was still cool-ish. That was nice. I am such a morning person, it's scary. I was so happy this morning, waking up at 4:30. I was practically frolicking down the streets. It just became so natural for me to be up and about that early. I loves it.

Then, later on in the day when I could sit in my sauna of an apartment no more, I decided to venture off to the Good Mall. I was going to catch the bus, but as I approached it, I saw that it was totally full to capacity, so I decided to just wait half an hour and get the next one. I can only imagine how ungodly and stinky it was on there with all those people. So I made my way to the nearest air conditioned building to waste some time, and got the next bus which wasn't nearly as full.

I'm getting thoroughly sick of the Good Mall, though. It's no fun when I've forbidden myself from buying anything that's non-essential. Well, except I had a moment of weakness and found myself going to KFC without really realizing what I was doing. But for the most part, my refusal to spend money makes going to the mall pointless... except for the air conditioning.

Every flippin' store in the Good Mall is hiring, though. If it weren't for the fact that I'm trying to avoid retail... yeah, I'd go for it. But I've decided that I'm going to give myself until the end of August before I start panicking. They say the average job search is 6 weeks, but since I'm not quite in an average situation I'm going to give myself a bit longer. And then... yeah, I'll start freaking out and applying everywhere. I admit that I'm being a bit picky, and a bit slack, in my job search. But I'm also trying to make this into a mini-holiday as well. However, a holiday where I'm reluctant to spend anything in the way of money isn't much fun.

You know what I wanna do? What I really really wanna do? I wanna go home. I know I was just there, but I wanna go back for a couple days. However, you know what's stopping me? I bet you can guess. Money, of course. And also the fact that, although she hasn't said it... I have a feeling my mom is disappointed in me for quitting my job so, in a way, I'd rather not see her again until I've become a success story.

So, in other words... I'm probably not going to see my mom again for a long while.

Anyways... I need a cold shower. Maybe two.


2006-07-21 at 6:43 p.m.