I'm So Happy That I Can't Stop Crying

I went into work half an hour early. Talked to my supervisor. Signed a piece of paper. Turned in a couple things. And then left before I was even scheduled to start my shift.

I wish I hadn't had to do this. But I'm glad that I did. Funny Little Supervisor tried to get me to stay, but I said I couldn't. He told me I was doing well, but I still don't feel good about myself and my performance at this job. And I just can't handle the constant dread anymore. I fully acknowledge that I'm never going to find a job that has no dread involved, but I'm too young and have too much extra money in the bank to continue with a job that ruins my entire life. And this may sound a little cocky on my part but... I'm a college graduate. I shouldn't be working alongside and doing the same job as high school dropouts. I can do better. I should do better.

But Funny Little Supervisor understood and agreed that it does take a certain kind of personality-type to be able to really succeed at this job, and he was really kind and sweet and wished me good luck. It made me feel really bad. I think I need a good cry now. I need to cry because of what I've done. And I need to cry because I don't know what to do now. But mostly I need to cry because I'm just so goddamn relieved that I don't need to put up with that place anymore. Then, once that's over with, I'm going to do something with my day.


2006-07-10 at 7:12 a.m.