I've Decided To Give Up Drinking. Except For After Meals, And After MacGuyver.

So Capital City Guy and I proceded to get thoroughly wasted Saturday night. We both then passed the fuck out and when we awoke from our comas the next morning, we agreed that we're gonna stop drinking for a while. It's probably a good thing. It'll save money, brain cells, etc.

Yesterday was interesting. I went home for a little while in the late morning, then went out with Capital City Guy, his dad, his step-mom, and the Scottish relatives for lunch. Now something I hadn't realized, despite knowing that his dad is Scottish... he has the accent going on. Well, he never told me that he was born and raised in Scotland, just that he was Scottish. So, yeah, I was a little surprised by the accent. It's maybe a little bit more watered down than his relatives accents are, but I was still kinda like "Whahuh?" at a couple of the things he said. And I'm for the most part pretty good at understanding accents. But his dad is super cool and funny, I liked him a lot. His step-mom is, like, a crazy hippy but she was pretty cool. And the relatives were extremely Scottish. I enjoy.

The restaurant we were originally going to go to... it's this really tiny super trendy restaurant and it was packed. Capital City Guy and I got there before his family did, so we went in there to try and score a table for 6. The waitress, who happens to be one of his ex-girlfriend's friends, said in response to whether we'd be able to get a table for so many in that tiny place, "Um... I'm going to say no." So Capital City Guy just, like, stomed out of there, convinced he was being denied because she holds a grudge against him. Then when his family got there and he told them what happened, his step-mom stormed in there and bitched and complained about what crappy customer service they were displaying, and such. Like, I thought everyone was being a little overly dramatic... and if he's been there since the breakup with the waitress there like he says he has, I really doubt she'd all of a sudden just decide to deny him because she's on his ex's side. I think it was more like it was fuckin' packed and she was stressed and maybe she didn't handle it as well as she could have... all that. But whatever.

But the place we went to was probably better. It was fun, I actually enjoyed meeting his family. I was kinda apprehensive because I didn't exactly have the greatest experience when I met his mom. Well, the circumstance was just baad... her drunken son dragging me home and ringing the doorbell furiously at 2 in the morning because he drunkenly lost his keys... and the next morning she was just judging me, I could tell in her eyes. It was the most awkward encounter I've experienced in the whole history of awkward experiences. But his dad was super cool, I could tell he was trying to make a good impression on me like I was the one he had to impress. So it was all good.

Then I went back to Capital City Guy's place and chilled there for the rest of the evening. I had a nap, did some reading, played some video games... while he sat at the computer and played some weird looking game. Then he cooked us dinner while we watched TV. It was so nice. Then, yeah. I left this morning.

He has the week off. He's hopefully in the process of finializing the purchase of a car. It will be wicked cool once he has it. Then he's going to Cracktown for more family visiting Wednesday through Friday. Hopefully in his new car. Then when he comes back... I'll ask him to drive me somewhere pretty. Maybe he will.

Well, this has gotten long. Enough of me for now.


2008-07-14 at 4:21 p.m.