Is Christmas Over Yet?

Holy craaaaap. Today succccccccked. So baaaaaaaaad. My 11 to 7 shift, which sucked because it ruins your entire day, became 11 to 8... which SUCKED because it's 9 hours and... I just ain't used to that. I worked 10 hours on Boxing Day 2005 (worst day of my life) but other than that... 8 and a half is the most I've ever done. And 7 and a half has been the most I've done since September. So, um... I died today. I died several times, and they were all excrutiating.

My only comfort is that tomorrow will be better... if only because it will be shorter. Because even if they get down on both knees and beg me, I am not saying okay to another 9 hour shift. Tomorrow I'm on for 7 and a half... and that's plenty. No more.

I had this one customer who was so infuriating... "I want to return this... actually, I want to exchange it for this... oh, but I want cash back for this and a gift card for that... and I want to buy this... and I want to return what I just bought and get it put on a gift card then buy it back with the gift card..." Seriously. My brain malfunctioned. It was not pleasant.

Then just now I had to dig through, like, 20 boxes to find where I packed my extra toiletries cuz Emu had run out of baby wipes. I use them to remove makeup, they're quite efficient. But yeah, I was planning on quickly just running over my face with one of those and hopping on the computer for an hour to wind down but then I was all like "Oh crap." And, like... I can't just use water or cleanser or astringent to wash off makeup... not the same, not the same. HAS to be a baby wipe. So I was all irritating the cat again by heaving boxes around when he wasn't expecting it.

On my way out of work this evening there was a box of gourmet-like chocolate bars on the table in the staff room... so I took one. I mean, if they were being sold to staff or something I imagine there'd be a sign. Seems like kind of a weird thing to just be giving away but... whatever. I so took one. Also my supervisor left me a present today... although the greatest present is her not being there this weekend. Anyways, I now have an extremely dented tin of weird candy. I left it on the coffee table in the living room, instructing my parents to help themselves. When it's all gone I'll hammer out the dent and... oh, I dunno. Keep my stash in it.

Like I have a stash. But hell, a day like today... I friggin' wish I did.


2007-12-22 at 8:49 p.m.