Bus Drivers Have A Pretty Sweet Deal

So today at work I had a very surprise visit from a couple of my aunts and a cousin. Longtime readers may recall Aunt Dadworshipper... she came, and brought her crazy out-of-province sister and her will-probably-never-reach-puberty son. I knew they were all in Nutty McShitville because my mom keeps me updated on these kinds of things, but I didn't know that they were planning a daytrip down to Cracktown at all. I haven't seen any of them for so long... apparently both my aunts now think I look exactly like my mother. I think they meant it as a compliment, but I'm not sure.

So, yeah, that was my big thing for today. Work today BLEW otherwise. Uh... saw Thing 2 briefly and gave her back her mp3 player, but that was all the contact we had. And... yeah. Oh, and management, inbetween saying things that pissed me off, told me about how when those bigwigs were in the store yesterday, one of the displays we had in the store collapsed right as they walked by and... yeah, I don't know why, but that set me off into a fit of giggles. That's just funny. Like enough other things didn't go wrong while they were there.

So I work again tomorrow and I have to freakin' walk because CRAZY GODDAMN UNION BUS DRIVERS get EVERY SINGLE GODDAMN STAT HOLIDAY OFF, leaving me fucked and alone. I mean, having Christmas off? Of course. New Years Day? Sure. But Good Friday?! No. The world does not stop on Good Friday, there should still be some goddamn buses. Nothing I love more than having to walk over an hour before I start my 8 and a half hour long workday. And then, quite possibly unless I manage to scam a ride from someone, walking home again. I mean, there are some days when I walk to and/or from work, but that's because I choose to. And that's typically also been when I've worked shorter shifts. I'm just... I'm just not happy, as you can tell. But sometimes I'm left with few options and... well, hey, at least working on a stat, I get paid more. That's the only reason I'm putting up with this crap and going in.

I've watched Borat about 17 times since I bought it last week and... is that not the absolute best movie that has ever been made? It's just so funny and so brilliant. I think I'm in love.

I have a cold, which isn't helping my bad attitude any. And I'm still deathly tired. I was in bed for about 11 hours last night, but I don't think I actually slept for many of them. I don't know. It doesn't feel like it, at least. I should probably get to bed now, rest up for tomorrow's brutal day. Well, at least I get Saturday and Sunday off to recover from what will likely be a not-so-Good Friday.


2007-04-05 at 9:47 p.m.