We Don't Need No Water, Let The Motherfucker Burn...

So I got woken up this morning at about 5:30 by all of the fire alarms in the building going off. I tried to go back to sleep, but then I thought maybe I should look into whether or not there was an actual fire going on. I poked my head out of my door the same time as the musclehead across the hall and we just kind of looked at eachother... there was no smoke, no chaos, no one else seemed to be leaving their apartments, so he was just like "I'm going to call the apartment managers", and we both went back into our apartments.

Then someone outside started buzzing everyone yelling "Get the hell out of the building!!" So then I thought "Oh god, there really is a fire!" so I grabbed my wallet, my cell phone, and my keys... which are apparently my answer to that age old question "If your house was on fire, which 3 things would you take?" I don't know why I thought my keys were important, though. If the building burned down, all but one of them would be rendered completely useless. Well, whatever.

So I went outside where there were people on their cell phones calling 911 and calling the apartment managers... It was quite the little fiasco. No one could get ahold of the apartment managers... they don't live in our building, by the way. Otherwise they probably would have been out there with the rest of us. They ended up showing up slightly after the fire trucks did. And yes, that's plural. I thought that was excessive. Especially since, incase you didn't already figure this out... THERE WAS NO FIRE.

It's just that the alarms decided to malfunction all of a sudden. That's always fun. And it took all those firefighers and the apartment manager forever and a day to get the problem sorted out. We finally got back in just in time for me to get ready for work.

And work today... good god, do not get me started. Horrible. And, get this... they've un-cancelled tomorrow's shift. Management likes fucking with me. I mean, they cancelled that shift which ruined everything for me, but then I was like "Well, okay. I can use that day to get some stuff done", so I started making plans. But then... everything is ruined once again.

They are making me consume an unusually high quantity of chocolate, even by my standards. I made my second chocolate bar of the day a sugar free one, though, like that's going to help any. And I ended up buying some chocolate Pop Tarts as well, and I've made a serious dent in that box already. I need to stop being angry, because when I'm angry all I want to do is eat chocolate and that just can't keep happening the way it has. Not without consequences.


2007-02-13 at 5:29 p.m.