I Have A Great Attitude, As Always

25 years ago today, my parents got married. Isn't that insane? I mean, my parents are the perfect example of why two people should NOT get married, but yet here they are 25 years later. Hmm. Anyways, I'm happy for them. They're going out for dinner tonight at the same restaurant where they had their wedding reception. It has a different name now and stuff, but the location is the same and I guess that's important to them. Anyways... here's to 25 more. Because if they're like the grandparents, who are also a huge influence on me not wanting to ever get married, their 50th anniversary party will be freakin' insane.

So... I should be at work right now. But I'm not. And I only feel shitty about this because of the money I'm losing. That's the only reason. I didn't even feel bad about lying on the phone to my favourite manager. And, yeah, it had to be the only manager I still like that was in today. But that wasn't enough to make me change my mind. By the way, the excuse I used... my door wouldn't lock, and I didn't want to leave my apartment until that got fixed. A true excuse that I almost had to use once, and may have to legitimately use again someday. It worked. She kind of chuckled, and said that she didn't blame me for not wanting to leave my apartment unlocked. And there you go.

Then I had a freakin' 4 hour long nap, which is unheard of for me. But I guess I needed it.

Oh, I just gotta share this. Something Thing 1 said to me last night. Like... I have a couple of college diplomas that I got over 2 years ago now that aren't really worth the paper they're printed on, for how much use they've been to me. I've never gotten a job that was relevant to them or anything. Thing 1 asked me why I don't get a job in that field now, and I said the main reason was because I finished college over 2 years ago and she was like "So? Just re-read your textbooks. You'll be fine." Yeah. Try telling that to a potential employer. They wouldn't even hire my ass when all this stuff was fresh. You think I'd be able to just walk into a job interview (if I even got that far) and say "I'm perfect for this job, because I just re-read all of my textbooks"? But little miss 18 years old only has had one job and has not seen how cruel the job search world really is does not understand. Also, you know... don't really want that kind of job anymore. To be honest. But it would be a step up from what I have now.

By the way, New Years Resolution for 2007... stop hanging out so much with teenagers.


2006-12-30 at 2:13 p.m.