Kiss My Ass, 2006!

Let's review, shall we?

So I started off this year finishing the last few days of my Christmas job, and being all excited about my new job in Cracktown. I was supposed to start the end of January, and had less than a month to find an apartment here. And guess what? It didn't happen. First major disappointment of the year right there.

Finally ended up finding an apartment sometime in mid February, then moving here on March 1. I managed to arrange with my job to start on March 20. Things were looking up for the Emu.

Ah, but my dream job was not what I thought it would be. Worked there from March 20 until July 10, when I quit in a hysterical derranged mess.

I took about a month off, then started working at a little store on August 9. I then quit on August 12. Horrible horrible job, but at least I realized fairly quickly that it wasn't going to be right for me.

Then... August 28. Started the job that I have now. While I've been quite consistently disgusted by the hours, and during more months than not have found it very difficult to survive financially, I quite liked the job, up until recently. Despite being retail, despite the fact that I have to take the bus there every day, despite everything.

But, it was the lack of money and the fact that I knew that hours would dry up even more after Christmas, that inspired me earlier this month to try and get hired back at the job that I quit in July. Now, this place has a reputation for hiring anyone and rehiring anyone, so I thought I was a shoe-in. Ha. I wasn't.

So now, here I am... not happy with how this year went at all. I would have done a billion things differently if I could go back. I admit it now, I wish I hadn't quit that job. It seemed like the only option at the time but even though it was a horrible job, at least I could survive on it.

What to expect in 2007? I expect to be moving... probably into cheaper shared accomodations here, because I know I can't afford to stay living on my own unless I somehow manage to score a really great job. But this is such a horrible time of year to be job hunting. I don't expect to find anything. Or I might just move away completely. We'll see.

Oh, the misery. I know that making mistakes is a way of learning and growing, but I still feel like I've screwed up this year something fierce. I hope that 2007 is better for me and for everyone. See you next year.


2006-12-31 at 9:43 a.m.