And You Think I Somehow Have What It Takes Because...?

Oooh. Management has finally caught on. I'm now scheduled to work on a weekend. It's not until the 9th, mind you, so I still have 2 full weekends to enjoy but... yeah. Oh well, I knew it would end eventually.

Also management, in their infinite wisdom (?) have decided to give me what is essentially a supervisory position. Colour me surprised. I'm not even out of my probation period yet. I'm not exactly sure how to feel about this, because it's the reason why I'm starting to get scheduled for more evening shifts, and also... I don't know if I have what it takes, man! I'll crack under the pressure, I know I will. They actually expect me to train people. Do you know how bad I am at explaining things? Well, if you read this thing, surely you've been able to tell that I'm not a good explainer. I also have zero patience, and still not totally confident with myself and how good I am at that job, so... crikey. Oh, I'm sure it'll be fine, though. I'm sure management will be on my ass the whole time, especially at first.

Today was Pay Day. My pay stub, which always has at least one thing that makes me raise an eyebrow at it, shows me having earned 83 cents of sick pay. Ha. Um... what? I gather that was from the day that management let me leave early, not because I was sick or anything but... well, because they could sense my dissatisfaction or because the store was kind of dead or whatever their reason was. 83 cents is such an insane amount, though. And also, I wasn't sick and it wasn't my idea to go home, so I don't think that sick pay should have come into play there. At my last job, when things were especially slow, they had "undertime" where people could leave early, and it didn't count as leaving early or being sick or anything, it was just you ceasing to work for that day. But every place works differently, I guess.

So I have a bit of extra money again this month, but unlike last month I'm not going to go all crazy crazy. I might splurge on something, though. Gotta think about this. Well, I need to go do some regular shopping tomorrow morning anyway, so... I'll keep an eye out for something special, just for me. It will be so special. Also I'd like to get my Christmas shopping done too. Not that I have a freakin' clue what to get anyone, but...


2006-11-24 at 7:11 p.m.