Where There's Steam, There's No Fire

Oh, the pain. Anyways... today was okay, I guess. Nothing special. I hate people, but that's nothing new. The biggest thing today was someone paid for something with 3 $100 American bills, which I didn't think a whole lot of because the store accepts American money, it just doesn't happen too much. Anyways... later on, on my break I was reading some company propaganda and I read "We do not accept American bills of $100 or higher." Ha. And I had just taken 3 of them. So I told management and I got a slap on the wrist (literally... heh) and... yeah. That's my big story for today.

And everyone at the store agrees that all American money looks fake. That's why we don't accept anything larger than 50s from our friends south of the border, too much of a risk... especially when no one here really knows the difference between a counterfeit American bill and the real thing. While we're at it, I wish we could stop accepting Canadian $100 bills as well. I'm so sick of these people paying for tiny little purchases with a freakin' hundred. They need to be shot.

Tomorrow I have a short little shift. It's hardly worth me dragging my lifeless body over there. But I'll use that extra time that I'll have at home in the morning to get some things done. Things I keep neglecting. Like vacuuming. These carpets are disgusting. Well, they're kind of permanently disgusting, but I can at least make some kind of effort to try and make them look better.

Someone's smoke detector keeps going off. It's annoying. I can hear them freaking out about it too. And not in a "Oh my god, the building is on fire!" kind of way, so I'm not too worried. Actually, last night after I had a shower my smoke detector went off, as it occasionally does in situations like that because of how it's right outside the bathroom door and extremely sensitive to steam. It's funny how often I hear smoke alarms going off in this building. And you just know that every time there's some naked person jumping up and down and waving their wet towel trying to get it to stop. The visual is hilarious. Except when it's me. In that case, it's quite tragic.

And on that note, I'm out of here.


2006-10-17 at 7:33 p.m.