So This Is Christmas

Hi. I hope everybody had a great Christmas. I'm not sure if I did.

So this Christmas was the first that The Boy and I had together. Since The Boy's family lives in the same city as us, and my folks live about 2 and a half hours away, we've always been apart but then read somewhere that married couples should be together on Christmas, if possible, so... yeah. This year was my parents' place, next year will be his... and repeat. So my mom, who was once my entire world, is actually a really horrible person. Shit-talking, unreasonably angry, "Oh my God, Woman, you need to shut your face" kind of person. So that's not great. After we left, The Boy must have said "Your mom is SO MEAN" to me about 50 times.

So that was our Christmas. Here's hoping next Christmas at the in-law's is better. And it probably will be because at least there will be booze.

Oh, but just leaving my parents' place wasn't immediate sweet escape. Because we don't own a car, don't currently have licenses, and other things that occasionally (but ONLY OCCASIONALLY, I must stress to those pro-drivers license people) make things difficult, I had to arrange a ride for us. My dad, who really likes driving (and also, I expect, likes opportunities to get away from my mother) offered to drive us one way. So he drove here, picked us up, and brought us back on Christmas Eve. Our ride back home, however... OUR BOSS. Her daughter and grandkids happen to live in the same town as my parents so it was really the only option besides the horribly run bus service that just keeps getting worse. Now, I like my manager quite a lot... but she was too chatty for the whole ride back. Just too too chatty. Luckily The Boy picked up what I was lacking in the socializing department that day... I did my best but I was SO burnt out and just wanted sweet sweet silence. Also my manager, I think, drives with no one else in the car about 99% of the time. And she's a hand talker. So we drifted into oncoming traffic more than a couple times because this kind of multitasking is new to her.

Then work yesterday was horrible. The Boy and I were at each other's throats all day (we're a great "...and we've never had a fight" couple outside of work but if ANYTHING is going to someday end our relationship it's going to be us working together) and all our clients/coworkers/couriers are fucking idiots. Gah.

So this weekend is already the greatest weekend I've ever had. So quiet. Catching up on sleep. The silence is just so amazing. And there's a Criminal Minds marathon on. This moment is perfect.

The rate I've been going, I'll be surprised if I write again before the New Year. So Happy New Year, all that shit, and I'll talk to you soon.


2013-12-28 at 11:20 a.m.