I Feel Strange

I've ignored text messages and phone calls from Texty today... which maybe isn't the best way to handle this, but... well, it's what I'm doing right now. The one I just got from him "Hey, I don't have to work tomorrow so do you want to come over and get drunk with me?" Clearly, I do not.

I think after our 12 hours of chatting yesterday that Washington Boy and I are starting to have issues. In a sexual sense, I think the guy is a hypocrite. Like, we've talked about sex a lot. And we seem to differ on most, if not everything to do with that subject. And, yeah... he's a total hypocrite. Still rather like the guy though, he's tons of funny and damn, what a voice. He keeps picking on me for my accent, though. Like seriously. Dude. Like, when I said the word pasta, he just started laughing and laughing... There are, at least in my mind, two ways of pronouncing the word "pasta". You can say it, prouncing the A like "apple", or the A like "open wide and say 'aaahh'" I pronounce it the former. Lots of other people do to, I know. But I also know many people who pronounce it the latter. However, apparently he's never heard anyone say it the way I did and... yeah. He laughed himself stupid at my "Canadian accent".

And also apparently I pronounce "tomorrow" funny... although I couldn't hear any difference at all in the way he said it from the way I said it.

I'm supposed to be helping the Little Chickita out with some stuff tomorrow. I said I would. Hopefully, though, I'll be able to drag my ass out early enough to drop off some resumes before then. I applied at a couple places today... I'm still tons of uninspired, though, because I'm still tons of unsure about whether or not I want to stay here and also it's just like "Back to retail, here I come." At least for the Christmas season. When I said that I wouldn't work a third Christmas in a row in retail because it kills my soul.

However... I am starting to think retail is better than goddamn call centres. For reals. There's something about dealing with people face to face, as opposed to over the phone, that makes them seem slightly more human. Also, I never talked about this but it is indeed a sad reality... I re-applied at the place where I worked when I first moved to Cracktown. Loyal readers may recall how I also re-applied there last December and got turned down. I decided to give it a go and... yeah. Got turned down yet again. Not that I give a fuck... it is, afterall, a call centre. And I hated that job. That place has such a bullshit reputation in this town... seriously, every job interview I've had since then, the person interviewing me has been all like "Oh. So you worked at [that place]." Yeah, me and the rest of the city. So? Perhaps the sooner I can get that off of my resume, the better. I always wonder if that being on there is helping or hurting me. Employers typically have the "Well, if you could handle that place for any amount of time, you can handle anything" attitude but still. It has a bad rep. And rightfully so.

Oh! Oh! And you know what cracks me up? Anytime I'm near there and see people that I used to work with there... they're all noticeably heavier than when I knew them. Call centres make people FAT, yo. Oh, and by the way... incase it wasn't obvious, my job that I quit last month was also a call centre. Call centres seem to cause EXTREME nervous breakdowns on my part. I'm taking it as a hint.

Or I'm just trying to make my inevitable transition back into the retail sector easier on myself...


2007-10-22 at 7:47 p.m.