As Soon As I'm Convinced I Need To Quit My Job, Things Start Going Right Again

So my work life has been interesting. I was supposed to work a 4 hour shift today, then it turned into 8... and tomorrow I'm starting doing that temp assignment at another office. Why it's starting on a Wednesday, God only knows. I thought it started on Monday, so I was flipping out that my office was completely asshole-ish in offering it to me, then changing their minds without telling me. I over-reacted a bit, but they're still kinda assholes. Or at least pretty incompetent. I think leaving it until today before the manager even told the 2 of us who are doing this what the address of this place even is was ridiculous. Luckily it was easy for me to find, I went out after work today and tracked it down, so tomorrow morning can be a bit more smooth.

I'm not overly impressed with who I'm doing this project with. It's not who I originally was told it would be. They got Newbie McNewberson, a cocky little asshole who my supervisor openly complained to me about just last week. Oh well, maybe he's not so bad... I guess we'll see.

I am now kinda Facebook stalking someone from work... every once in a while when I'm bored I look up random names of people I know and when I looked her up before her profile was private, but now it appears to be public and... haha crikey. Very openly bad mouthing our work, and saying how she wants to find a new job and quit. And she's one of the higher ups. She's, like, the HR person and jill of all trades. She appears to be considerably less happy with her job than she gives the illusion of at work. I noticed she doesn't have anyone from work on her friends list, that's probably why she was bitching so openly and frankly about the manager and how shoddy the place is run and all this... but she probably should have left her profile settings on private if she was going to do that. But it was great fun for me to read.

The iced tea I made yesterday... fabulous. Tastes good by itself or with a shot of gin. I've never made real iced tea before and didn't really know what I was doing, but figured it would be easy enough. However I am pretty much capable of screwing up anything. But no, this turned out right. Just strong enough, just sweet enough. I like.

So I'm kinda nervous but mostly excited about tomorrow. It'll be a change of pace, at least, and more money. And I'm glad this place is also close by. Not as close as my regular job, but still a comfortable walking distance. God bless this fabulous location of mine, even if I am borderline living in the ghetto. At least it's a convenient ghetto.


2009-05-12 at 7:29 p.m.