Transportation Frustration

So I realized something yesterday. I work on Monday. Monday is Labour Day. There are no buses on Labour Day. Ha. I hate asking people for rides because it makes me feel dirty, but I text messaged the Little Chickita as soon I realized that and she said that she can give me a ride to work, although I'd end up getting there early since she actually starts work at the same time as me. And also, since she has this thing called a full time job which I do not have, she'll still be working when I get off so there's still this little question of how the hell am I going to get home.

I'm thinking at this point that I'm going to end up walking. Well, I've always wondered how long it would take to walk that route, but at the same time I've always hoped that I wouldn't have to find out. Eh, it's okay. I'm not scheduled to work on Tuesday anyway, so if I have a near death experience walking that far, I'll have time to recover.

And keeping with the whole being angry at public transit and their idiocy, I managed to get my hands on the new bus schedule yesterday which oh so hilariously claims to be effective beginning September 4 (Labour Day). Anyways... yeah. It seriously sucks. Yeah... ridership is up, more and more people are becoming dependent on the bus as their primary mode of transportation... let's decrease the number of times per day the buses run on major routes! YAY!!!!! Seriously, that's what they've done. Assholes.

But then, on the flip side, a reason to be upset when you're dependent on a car... my mom's car was, infact, written off yesterday by the insurance company. Too much damage was done. That sucks so bad. And when I was talking to her on MSN yesterday afternoon, they were in the process of towing the car away forever. And my dad was still struggling like mad to get his car up and running. It makes me so sad about my mom's car, it really does. I've known that car for a large part of my life... my mom got it when I was 8. It's like when my dad got rid of his old car a few years ago, the car that they had bought just before I was born. That was hard because I had known that car for my whole life. Considering I'm not much of a car person at all, it's funny how attached I can get to these machines.

Anyways... enough of my babble. See you later.


2006-09-02 at 8:06 a.m.