What About All The Things I Purposely Do Wrong?

So I'm getting really discouraged with my performance at this damn job of mine. Today at one point there was this guy lurking near me and watching me, and I was aware of who he was and because he was not holding a balloon I knew it was not good news. So he asked me if I had a minute and... yeah. He was there to tell me that not just my supervisor or the group of people whose jobs it is to find all of my mistakes but the fucking company bigwigs had an issue with something I had done wrong. And this was the most ridiculous thing ever. Some dumb policy that I had never even heard of. So I am now automatically a failure in their eyes. And it's going to take me a long time to redeem myself now.

I almost cried. I seriously did. I mean, it wasn't until about 5 minutes later that I realized just how much that bothered me. It would be one thing to get in trouble for something I knew I was doing wrong. But this... this was dumb. No one had ever told me that policy, I had never seen anyone practicing this, and in fact I'm pretty sure that a while ago when I had asked a higher up a question regarding a similar issue, I was told something completely different. So the fact that I got called on this just pisses me off all over the place. It isn't fair.

And my day kind of got off to a bad start because I had shown up at work early because I needed to ask Funny Little Supervisor something, only to have him not even show up until, like, 15 minutes later. So, uh... good thing I made that effort there. However, Funny Little Supervisor did redeem himself later on by buying all of his employees pizza. He's a pretty cool guy.

Today on my lunch break I was bored, so I ended up downloading Tetris onto my cell phone. I'm pretty sure that was about the last thing I needed, though. And it cost 5 bucks which, at the time, didn't seem that bad, although I'll probably regret it when that shows up on my bill. Meh. It will keep me occupied for many more breaks to come. I've never really played games on my cell phone before. It's like I was playing around with my cell phone last night when I discovered that it has some sort of voice memo thing on there, where you can record reminders for yourself. I was floored. I had no idea. I've had this damn thing for almost 2 years now, and I'm still discovering new things. It's a little sad. So maybe I shouldn't retire this thing just yet. It's quite the advanced little thing, despite the fact that it's probably considered to be totally obsolete now. And besides, I need to get at least my 5 bucks worth out of that Tetris game before I get rid of it.


2006-06-27 at 1:53 p.m.