I Still Love How My Mom Hated My Dad When She First Met Him

Hahaha. Oh, Facebook. Guess who's my friend on there now? The guy my mom dated as a teenager who had an annoying best friend who eventually ended up being my dad. SMALL WORLD! This guy was looking at a Nutty McShitville group on there and saw I was a member, and he messaged me asking "Are you by any chance related to [my dad's name]?" And... yeah. So I gave him my dad's e-mail address, after I determined that he was actually someone my dad knew, and... yep. Crazy, eh?

He coulda been my daddy! He shoulda been my daddy. I mean... I realize I wouldn't be me if he had been my daddy, but maybe I would have been better.

Maybe I'd be someone right now who didn't have a guy who thinks she gave him herpes.

I was reading about herpes last night, because I gotta admit I don't know a whole hell of a lot about it, and it's true that a lot of people have it but don't show symptoms... apparently 50% of the population in the UK have herpes. I can only assume that there are similiar statistics for North America. Therefore if I don't have herpes, I can only assume that you, dear reader, do. That's what the odds state. I'm almost willing to bet, though, that this guy doesn't have herpes at all... he just really really wanted an excuse to call me and the first reason that popped into his head was the classic "Did you give me herpes?" He definitely is a charmer.

They COMPLETELY changed the schedule next week. Out of the frickin' blue. And it's fucked. Well, like... the manager that was recently arrested/fired for robbing the store blind... she's the one who made the schedules. And this is the last week that she made the schedule for. So another manager is trying to figure things out but it's not working very well. However, I didn't see anything wrong with the first one she did. I had more hours. And I actually worked 5 days with over 30 hours. Now I'm down to 4 and less than 30 paid hours. Shitty, especially since I'm full time, yo. I'm not sure what the laws are... like if you're full time if they have to give you 30 paid hours, or just schedule you for 30 hours... cuz, like, I'm working four 8-hour shifts but, yeah, include those unpaid 45 minute lunch breaks in there... less than 30 paid hours. Emu is NOT IMPRESSED. But Emu is quitting and moving away soon anyway, so whatevs.

Thing 1, surprise surprise, wants to get drunk tonight. And Emu, surprise surprise, is pretty much in agreement. Even though we both work tomorrow morning. Wouldn't be the first time, though.

Anyways... yep. Enough of me for now. Talk to y'all later.


2007-06-14 at 5:04 p.m.