HARUMPH, I SAY!

Harumph. I'm not happy about this whole being awake right now thing.

Well, the good thing is I don't work today. I'm took Friday and I'm taking today off work because vacation days from hell. I also have a full week off in a couple weeks. Then I still have a handful more days to take before the end of February. Nine, I think? Ack. I really shouldn't have done this to myself, it's really quite annoying. Spreading your vacation days out throughout the year is probably something I should try.

So my New Years was quiet, as it always is. Watched a bit of that Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest and Dick Clark spinning in his grave, and was disgusted by the fact that Jenny McCarthy is still a thing. One of those times I would have loved to just reach inside my TV and punch someone in the face. And... yeah. So it's 2014 now. My last full calendar year of my 20s. That's depressing me more than I thought it would. I always wanted to be 30 but now that it's just around the corner I'm all... ack.

New Year's resolutions...? Not really! I thought I wanted to lose weight, because I was convinced I put on at least 10 to 15 pounds since the wedding. I weighed myself for the first time in a long time on New Year's Day and it turns out I've only put on 5. It's not the best feeling 5 pounds, but I don't feel I need to lose it... maybe just rearrange it a little. So that's not going to take much of a lifestyle adjustment. Which is good. I hate change.

Belated Christmas gift exchanges happened this past weekend. Sweet loot from the in-laws. Including a slow cooker, which we had just bought for ourselves about three weeks ago. So that's getting returned for sweet sweet cash money. The Boy is all agitated, though, because he asked for one, like, 3 Christmases ago and never got it. His sister got one that year though (she did not ask for one). And then they bought him one just after he finally broke down and bought one himself. The Boy gets pissed off about funny things, it's cute.

Then I met up with my old friend/ex-boyfriend (yes, I have managed to remain friends with an ex even into my marriage... I'm pretty proud of us) to exchange gifts and he gave me Grumpy Cat stuff, which I'm beyond stoked about. Grumpy Cat stuffed animal and a glass that says "I didn't choose the grumpy life. The grumpy life chose me." He knows me pretty well.

So, yes. No work today but I did agree to go to the gym with The Boy at ass o'clock this morning... so I already know today's day off is going to shape up like Friday's... barely got any sleep, had to get up early for the gym, came home and napped literally all morning, and didn't get anything done. And I'm really wanting to be productive on each and every one of my ridiculous number of days off because this condo has fallen to shit and I feel I need to. But yeah, that's not really happening.

Harumph.


2014-01-06 at 12:33 a.m.