Just Got Feet, Don't Got Shoes

I just bought a new pair of shoes for le job. I'm a little bit confussled about the dress code, though. Like the manager gave me all of this propaganda that I have to read, and it says for the dress code that you have to be all in black and/or white. However, and I may have to discretely pop by the store again to check this out, but I do not recall anyone wearing black and white. Also the thing about shoes, it says "business casual footwear". I hate the term business casual, because it can mean so many different things. So I just thought buy a new pair of shoes that sound adequate, just incase. They were only 30 bucks. 30 bucks is pretty much the absolute most that I'm willing to spend on a pair of shoes. And no, I am not interested in getting a second pair of shoes of equal or lesser value for half off. What am I, made of money?

My mom says she's proud of me. Like when I told her last night on MSN how I made such a good impression on everyone, she said she was proud of me. I was supposed to be the family success story and I feel like I've failed in so many ways, but if my mom can still be proud of me, despite that, then I guess I haven't really failed after all. Just a thought.

I still do feel like a bit of a failure, though. Every month when Student Loans sucks 100 bucks out of my bank account, I realize that I've wasted a fucking ton of money on a college education that has gotten me NOWHERE. But that seems to have become a family tradition.

Anyways... I got invited to the Little Chickita's 19th birthday party which will take place in a couple of weeks. She's all excited, but I swear the 19th birthday party loses its meaning if you've been somehow getting into bars for months now. She's still uber excited, though. I said I'd be there. But considering I'm not much of a drinker myself and I freaking hate being around drunk people, I'm not sure how much of a great time it will be.

So... yeah. Just trying to enjoy myself, these last few days I have here. Not sure what I'm doing this afternoon, but I'm sure I'll find something. Last night I ended up going down to the beach for a while. Good times. Cracktown, despite its less than flattering nickname given to it by me, is so goddamn beautiful. Sometimes. In some areas.


2006-08-23 at 11:46 a.m.